RSS

Sketches of a Horse, a Hen, an Eagle, and a Longhorn

20 Mar

I’ve been trying to sort of kick-start my creativity lately, so I’m doing quick sketches to try and spark some ideas and inspiration.  I’m also sketching so that I can say to myself, yes, I did draw today! 😉

These took about 10 minutes to a couple of hours each, with the horse sketch taking the longest.  The hen and the longhorn are both done with Faber-Castell Pitt markers, and the eagle and the horse are graphite.  After playing with graphite again, I wouldn’t mind doing a fully fledged drawing with it again.  Once upon a time, graphite was my go-to medium of choice.  Once I tried out pen and ink several years ago, I fell in love, and the graphite took the back seat.

I’ll admit that I am currently working on a new drawing, and this time with a new medium: clayboard.  More on that later. 🙂

These were all done in a Strathmore Field sketchbook, and measure roughly 7×9 inches in size.

Thank you for looking.  Happy first day of spring!

Eagle Sketch CR Hen SketchCR Horse SketchCR Longhorn SketchCR

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2014 in All Artwork, Sketches

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Sketches of a Horse, a Hen, an Eagle, and a Longhorn

  1. Riker Styles

    March 25, 2014 at 2:31 PM

    beautiful work!!!

     
    • Jenna

      March 27, 2014 at 10:02 AM

      Thank you so much for the nice comment, Riker Styles!

       
  2. Jocelyne

    April 5, 2014 at 4:04 PM

    They are all beautiful. I love the smoothness of graphite. The horse is magnificent, it’s my favourite 🙂 I love how there is always so much details in your drawings. Really beautiful Jenna 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      April 5, 2014 at 5:44 PM

      Thank you! It’s funny, graphite is all I did at first…it’s how I got started in art. Over time, I guess I was tempted by pen and ink, and more recently, scratchboard, so that graphite fell aside. I’ll probably do it again someday though, just to see how it feels after the long break from it. Thank you very much for the kind comments. Much appreciated! 🙂

       

Leave a comment