RSS

My First Post…and an Appaloosa

12 Mar

Hello,

My name is Jenna and I am an artist and an aspiring writer.  First of all, you’re probably wondering what my blog title, The Cozy Red: It’s All In My Head, really means.  Well, through my creative writing, I’ve accumulated a number of fictional characters from assorted storylines and places, and on those days where I don’t get around to writing their stories, I like to think that they’re all gathered up in my imagination, all living and waiting for me to pick up a pen or fire up the computer to write about them.  Over time, I got to imagining what sort of place they might all be hanging around in, and somehow, though I write mostly in the 19th century time period, I pictured a 1920s era skyscraper hotel, full of my characters.  I imagine it being a massive place that has everything they could ever want and need in their spare time including a theatre, good books, beautiful music, comfortable seating, great food, assorted coffees and cocoas, and best of all, unlimited soft serve ice cream cones.  Their favorite gathering place in this imaginary hotel is on the main floor, a place they dubbed the Cozy Red Lounge.  And so, it’s the Cozy Red…and it’s all in my head.  This blog is a place to share my creativity, both in the world of art and in the world of writing.  In time, I may introduce some of my characters on this blog, because they do so love to speak for themselves.

You needn’t worry.  I haven’t got multiple personalities, and I’m not a crazy person.  I am merely a creative person and would like to share my interests with anyone who would care to follow.  I hope you’ll like my blog.

While I’m making this post, I thought I’d post one of my recently completed drawings.  I draw horses fairly often, because I think they must be among the most gorgeous of all creatures in the world.  I drew this with Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens, using only the super fine tip.  When I draw with ink, I most often use a method called stippling, where the entire drawing is made up of countless little dots.  It may seem time-consuming, but the final result is worth the patience.  I’ve posted progress shots, and in the early ones, you can see light pencil lines that I used to make the outline.  When it comes to ink, there’s no fixing a mistake, so the faint outline is a must for me.  The finished drawing is 10×13 inches.  Please note that all of my work is copyrighted by me, so please do not save or print any of my artworks or photos.  If interested in prints of my work, you may contact me at indee.artist.jen88@hotmail.com.  Thank you for looking.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2011 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

6 responses to “My First Post…and an Appaloosa

  1. janukke

    March 14, 2011 at 5:31 AM

    Hi Jenna,

    congrats for starting a blog! How exciting! I cannot wait to get to know all the people and stories that are “all in your head” 😉 Great title, btw. 🙂

    Also, as I have said before, that Appaloosa is an impressive picture. It is also very cool to see the progress shots aligned one above the other. Just as in a flip book. 🙂

    Have fun with your new blog, Jana

     
    • Jenna

      March 14, 2011 at 12:14 PM

      Hi, Jana. It’s great to see you here. 🙂

      Thank you for the kind comments. I’m glad you’re looking forward to getting to know all the people in my head. 😉

      Thank you for such nice words on my Appaloosa. It was great fun to draw this, and I’d like to work in ink again soon.

      Thanks for dropping by. It means a lot!

       
  2. Robert Malcom

    March 14, 2011 at 2:01 PM

    great start to the blog… been having one for many years, and have added two others over time, not counting the websites… they’re fun to let go in – and you do well, with all your imagination and artistic skills… love the horse, btw…;-)

     
  3. Jenna

    March 14, 2011 at 2:45 PM

    Hi, Robert, and thank you so very much! The kind words mean a lot. I’m going to go check out your blogs. Your work is so wonderful! Thanks again. 🙂

     
  4. Alyssa

    March 21, 2011 at 4:30 PM

    Hey sis! I’m SO glad you decided to start a blog for your work!!! It looks great =) and I L.O.V.E this horse…it’s beautiful! ::)

     
  5. Jenna

    March 21, 2011 at 5:32 PM

    Hey there, sis! Thanks so much for checking out my blog and for posting a comment. It means a lot. I’m glad you like my Appy. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
