RSS

My current WIP…a Bethlehem scene

15 Mar

Here’s what I’m currently working on.  This is a commission of a Bethlehem scene (it will be for a Christmas card eventually).  I’m working in charcoal, and I’m drawing it on Strathmore Windpower Watercolor paper.  I really like the texture of rough watercolor papers for charcoal…it can hold a lot of charcoal, and gives the drawing a unique texture.  This is 11×14.  I’ve got a long way to go, but this is how it’s looking now. 

I’m sorry about the poor quality of my pictures…photographing my art is not something I’m very good at.  These were taken after dark, as I work best in the evenings, and the pad of paper I’m using, unfortunately, has a warp to it, so it’s especially hard to get a good picture.  You get the idea of how this looks, anyway.  Thank you for looking! 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2011 in All Artwork, Charcoal Drawings

 

6 responses to “My current WIP…a Bethlehem scene

  1. janukke

    March 15, 2011 at 2:09 PM

    Hi Jenna,

    it is so nice to see all those progress shots. And I really like the motif! Is it your imagination or are you working from a photography?

    It is such a peaceful scene. If it wasn´t spring it would put me in a Christmas mood at once!

    Jana

     
  2. Jenna

    March 15, 2011 at 5:43 PM

    Hi Jana,

    Thanks! I’m glad you like the progression so far. I’m using a reference image for this, because I could never pull all of this detail from my imagination. 😉

    Haha, funny you should say that about the Christmas mood. This is the second time I’ve had to do a Christmas themed commission in the spring time…and I really struggle to stick with them because of the season. It loses something once Christmas is past, I guess.

    Thanks for following along.

     
  3. Lenore Busch

    March 15, 2011 at 6:05 PM

    It’s nice to see what you are working on, The last shot starts to show a lot of the nice detail. When you are done do you use a fixative over the charcoal?

    I’ll be watching………..Lenore

     
  4. Jenna

    March 15, 2011 at 6:36 PM

    Thanks very much, Lenore. Yes, it takes several coats of fixative to set the charcoal well. I’ll probably give it three or four coats when it’s done, just to make sure things stay put.

    Thank you much!

     
  5. Aaron Hestekin

    March 15, 2011 at 7:11 PM

    Hey Jen!
    This print will be beautiful when you’re done with it! I can’t wait to see your progress. I like your site!

    ttyl, Aaron

     
  6. Jenna

    March 15, 2011 at 10:50 PM

    Well hello, Aaron! 🙂 Thank you so much for the nice words. I worked on this drawing tonight, but probably won’t post an update until tomorrow, because it’s getting late. Thanks; I’m glad you like the site, and really appreciate your dropping by. Hope you’ll continue to check in.

     

Leave a Reply

 
