RSS

Outdoor drawing

05 Apr

Usually, I’m a traditional, set-in-my-ways sort of person when it comes to creating.  I have my sweet spot in the house (an old family rocking chair in the corner of the living room, with my handy-dandy, cheap, plastic folding table from Wal-Mart to draw on), where I do pretty much all of my drawing.  Yes, I do take drawing supplies along with me on vacations, but rarely do I create anything worthwhile away from that one little sweet spot in the living room.  I guess I’m just programmed to create my best in that one little corner of the world with the tv going and my sweet cat, Oliver, checking in on me frequently.

But one of the most beautiful places anywhere (at least in my opinion) is the Great Lakes, especially Lake Superior.  What an amazing, breathtaking place that is.  I encourage you to go visit it sometime, if the opportunity ever arrives.  I try to spend some time on the wonderful lakeshores every summer, if I can.  While I was there two years ago, I had some spare time one afternoon, and decided to do what so many artists do.  So, I took up my drawing supplies and a pad of paper, and went down to the edge of that clear, cool water and relaxed as I enjoyed the view and took out my pens to try to capture a bit of the beautiful shore.  Drawing outside doesn’t often work out for me, but I found it so enjoyable this time when I did it that I hope to do it some more this summer if I get the chance.

I thought I’d share this picture I took of the little finger of land I drew.  This particular stretch of shore is rocky and quite breathtaking.

Here is my drawing.  It is too light by comparison to those dark rocks, but I was only able to sit there for an hour or so before the sun was setting and the air started to get cold.  It was a really fun exercise though, and something I ought to do more often.

As I was drawing, my mom (I was vacationing with my parents) snuck up behind me and captured a couple of photos.  So, this is me. 🙂

Here are a few shots of the views we had there.  It was stunning.  I enjoyed every minute of that vacation. 

A foggy sunrise over Lake Superior.  It was so pretty.

The steps that led from our motel down to the waters’ edge.

I hope you enjoy!  Thanks for looking.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in All Artwork, Photography, Sketches

 

8 responses to “Outdoor drawing

  1. Lenore Busch

    April 5, 2011 at 7:42 PM

    Gosh Jenna, you look so relaxed just sitting there with your sketch book. Who wouldn’t want to be there? The views are so beautiful and your sketch was perfect. Reminds me of the shores of Lake Huron where I grew up.

    The Great Lakes are truly a wonder to see, like you I hope everyone gets to see them. Thanks for sharing…Lenore

     
  2. Anna Connelly

    April 6, 2011 at 10:17 AM

    Nice sketch Jenna!

     
  3. Jenna

    April 6, 2011 at 11:35 AM

    Thank you so much, Lenore. It was a very nice, relaxing way to spend the afternoon. I’m glad you like the photos, and very happy that you’ve had the chance to see the Great Lakes. 🙂

     
  4. Jenna

    April 6, 2011 at 11:36 AM

    Thanks very much, Anna! I appreciate it.

     
  5. zorgor

    January 29, 2012 at 9:09 PM

    Wow, that certainly is the North Shore! Looks just like the rocky shore of Two Harbors I spent so many fine hours of my youth scrambling over. 🙂 One year my sister and I clambered, climbed, and walked from Burlington Bay all the way to the breakwater on Agate Bay and out to the end. Didn’t tell anyone we were doing it, didn’t have any gear, we were just kids being kids. 🙂 You can see the hike I mean here: http://g.co/maps/fve2e

    Looks like one part of the North Shore is as beautiful as the rest! Ah, happy childhood memories… 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 30, 2012 at 3:09 PM

      Yes it is. It amazes me how different the shoreline can look in one spot or another. Of course, the sandy beaches are beautiful too, but these big craggy rocks are my favorite. It sounds like you and your sister had quite the adventure! That is a long, long way to hike! I’ll bet you were in some trouble when you got back! 😉

       
      • zorgor

        January 30, 2012 at 9:33 PM

        Actually no, not really. My dad thought it was great, knew we could handle it, and my mom was just glad she didn’t know at the time…

        Yeah sure you betcha!

         
  6. Jenna

    February 1, 2012 at 8:34 PM

    I’m glad your parents were so supportive. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
