RSS

Gorilla riding (and other recent adventures)

15 Apr

Ok, so it isn’t quite as exciting as it sounds.  It was just a statue I sat on.  I was recently on vacation at an African-themed resort that was just stunning,  Here are a couple of photos from that trip…not my best, as I take pretty lousy indoor photos, but you’ll get an idea of what this place looks like, anyway.  Under this single roof was a large water park, a theme park (complete with bowling, go karts, mini golf, etc.), a few little gift shops, some restaurants, and a candy shop.  It was a really nice little getaway.

Here’s a photo of that gorilla statue.  Sadly, this is as close to horseback riding as I’ve come in quite some time.  I did have a pony when I was younger, but that’s a story for another day.  This was a handsome fellow though, and it felt like fun (and a bit rebellious) to hop up on his back.

The sheer size of the resort was astounding.  For example, here’s the fireplace in the lobby, complete with a life-sized elephant sculpture overlooking the place.  Believe it or not, this seating area was a very small part of the main lobby.

This is the Sweet Hut, an adorable little candy and chocolate shop that was also in the lobby.  Yes, I got a chocolate bar, and it is delicious!

Here’s a small part of the huge indoor water park.

This is a fountain that was in the theme park.  You can see part of the indoor ferris wheel in the background.

And finally, this was not at the resort, but just an interesting rock formation I saw on the drive home.  The land was relatively hilly in the area, but out on nowhere, there was a towering cliff that appeared to be standing on its own like a game piece or something.  It was amazing!  I just wish I could have gotten a better photo, but the best angle was from a busy highway where it was impossible to pull over.

I hope you enjoyed the little tour.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2011 in Photography

 

4 responses to “Gorilla riding (and other recent adventures)

  1. Lenore Busch

    April 17, 2011 at 3:18 PM

    Sounds and looks like a nice get-a-way Jenna. Thanks for sharing the photos. Looks so bright and cheerful there and a great way to get out of the winter doldrums. That animal statues are a sight to behold.

    I also love seeing the rock formation. It amazes me also to be driving along and then have something unusual pop up in the landscape like this. Makes you wonder what went on thousands of years ago, because some of it seems so displaced.

    Glad you had a nice time……….Lenore

     
  2. Jenna

    April 17, 2011 at 9:03 PM

    I’m glad you like the photos, Lenore. It was truly a sight to see, and it was a real treat to get away for a bit.

    The rock formation was so awesome! I just wish I could’ve gotten a picture from a better angle. You’re only seeing a tiny part of a huge stack of stones. Nature amazes me. What a miracle!

    Thanks for commenting. I always appreciate it. 🙂

     
  3. Robert Malcom

    April 20, 2011 at 8:14 AM

    Heh – you could call the rocks “Bull Lookout”, as from that angle it looks like a bull with horn standing as a lookout over the area… 😉

     
  4. Jenna

    April 20, 2011 at 12:09 PM

    Robert, it kind of does look like a bull, doesn’t it? I like that – “Bull Lookout”. 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

     

Leave a Reply

 
