RSS

The Naiya Dowah

23 Apr

Back when I started this blog, I know I said something about showing my art here, so I decided it might be a good idea to carry through on that a little more. 😉  So a couple of days ago, I spent a good part of the afternoon taking my artwork from their frames or portfolios, and setting them just right in good, natural, overcast, daylight.  I took my pictures carefully, painstakingly, and slowly.  And they still ended up looking only so-so.  Is there nothing as difficult to photograph as artwork?

Luckily for me, the wonders of photo editing programs on computers can fix so many flaws, so the images have been corrected and now look better than the original photos did and look much like the original works of art look in real life.

Here’s what I’ve chosen to post today.  It’s called “The Naiya Dowah”, which is a fictional tribe of Native Americans I created for a novel I started a few years ago.  That particular novel is not yet finished as other projects and stories have taken my attention from it.

The name “Naiya Dowah” is not English, but rather Skyan (the Skye are another fictional Native tribe).  In English, “Naiya Dowah” translates to “Scarlet Wolves”.  They are an enemy tribe to the Skye Indians in my novel, thus, the menacing name.

Usually, I like to use a reference for drawings, but it is difficult to find older reference images that are in the public domain and that are also accurate or detailed enough to work from.  This particular drawing was drawn simply through careful research and imagination and without an actual reference.  The wonderful people over at WetCanvas were extremely helpful to me while I was working on this drawing! 

This drawing is 8×10 and drawn in graphite.  I’m afraid I can’t remember what type of paper I used.  I’ll also include some close-ups to show detail.  I hope you like it.  Please feel free to leave a comment!  Thank you for looking.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2011 in All Artwork, Graphite

 

3 responses to “The Naiya Dowah

  1. Lenore Busch

    April 24, 2011 at 1:18 AM

    Jenna, it is so nice to see some more of your art work here. I sure wish you would finish this book as I love reading about Native American, be it fact or fiction.

    Your art work is really good and I especially like the close up views.

    Two books I think you would enjoy to check out at the library are Decorative Art of the Southwestern Indians, by Dorothy Smith Sides. It contains 290 copyright free design motifs.

    The next one I would think you would greatly enjoy is The Spirit of Indian Woman by Judith Fitzgerald. I’m sure many of the images in this book are in the National Archives. Cheers……….Lenore

     
  2. janukke

    April 24, 2011 at 7:42 AM

    Jen, this is REALLY impressive. Especially that you drew it from your imagination only. I am totally wowed. I cannot wait to find out what you will show us next! 🙂

    Cheers, Jana

     
  3. Jenna

    April 24, 2011 at 5:41 PM

    Hi Lenore. I may finish this book yet; it’s just a fairly complex story and I got in over my head a bit. I may get back at it again someday though.

    Speaking of books, I have nearly finished editing the book you want to buy, so hang in there, and it won’t be much longer. 🙂

    Thank you so much for recommending those two books. I will most certainly check them both out, as I am always glad to find anything to do with the history of Native Americans, especially books that include illustrations and photos. Even better if the images are in the public domain! I appreciate you sharing that with me. 🙂

    Jana, thank you so much! I’m so glad that you like this drawing. Thanks for the comments. They’re always appreciated. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
