RSS

Another Bethlehem Update

28 Apr

I am nearing the finish of this drawing.  I spent a few hours on it this afternoon and now there is almost no paper left uncovered.  I still have some small adjustments and tweaks to do, but it is nearly done.  The rolling hills/background toward the left side are something I’m not thrilled with.  It’s hard to know just how to capture the distance effectively.  I expect that letting it rest overnight is necessary and will be helpful for that issue.  I find that if I work too long on a drawing in one sitting, I end up getting a little frustrated with it, so it was time to let it set.

The sky was done with some very light, careful layers (almost like a dusting) of charcoal, and then a thorough rubbing with a larger sized, well-used blending stump.  For even, thorough coverage, I rub very firmly in a tight, circular motion with the blending stump.

Thanks for looking.  I hope to finish this up very soon!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2011 in All Artwork, Charcoal Drawings

 

4 responses to “Another Bethlehem Update

  1. janukke

    April 29, 2011 at 1:38 PM

    Hi Jenna,

    this is stunning! Great clouded sky, amazing how those rays of sunlight fall right upon the people and city walls. Love it!!!

    Jana

     
  2. Jenna

    April 29, 2011 at 10:33 PM

    Hey there, Jana,

    Thank you so much! I am so happy you like this. I am looking forward to finishing it and sending it off to my client. 🙂 I hope she likes it.

    Thanks for the kind comment!

     
  3. Lenore Busch

    April 30, 2011 at 4:53 PM

    Hi Jenna. I think your client is going to love this art work. It looks so intricate and you handled the detail beautifully…………Lenore

     
  4. Jenna

    May 1, 2011 at 12:03 PM

    Thank you so much, Lenore. She saw a WIP shot of this and sounded happy, so that’s a good sign. 🙂 I should try to finish this up today. Thanks for the comment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
