RSS

My flowers and the butterflies who kept me company today

08 Jun

It was so hot yesterday; it reached 100 degrees in my area and the sun baked the poor flowers.  So this morning and afternoon, since it was cooler and nicer, I generously watered them to help them perk up again.  They came around nicely, and I decided to take some pictures of them to post since I just love snapping photos of flowers.

All day, there have been a couple of really beautiful butterflies lingering and enjoying the flowers, as well.  I don’t know a whole lot about butterflies, so I looked it up, and found out that they are Red Spotted Purple butterflies.  I took some pictures of them, too.  They are pretty outgoing, and at one point, one even crawled from the patio table onto my hand for a moment before flying off.

As much as I appreciate the butterfly, I can’t help but wonder if it is positively despised by its fellow insects.  I mean, would people enjoy butterflies as much if not for their glorious wingspan?  If they were merely wingless insects, or had small or clear wings like the majority of the insect population, would they be so readily invited into our gardens?

On that note, I’ll also include a photo of a rather handsome beetle I spotted a few days ago.  Here’s to you, plainer insects of the world. 🙂

Don’t you love how pansies seem determined to make you smile?  When I see them, they always have a look about them like they are almost reaching for me, trying to coax a smile out of me.  They are happy flowers, don’t you think?

These are the gazanias…they aren’t doing all that well right now as you can see.  They’re looking a bit sad and bedraggled.  Still, there’s something kind of charming about an unkempt flower.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in Photography

 

6 responses to “My flowers and the butterflies who kept me company today

  1. Jo Castillo

    June 12, 2011 at 10:02 AM

    Great photos! You are talented in many ways. Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. Jenna

    June 12, 2011 at 10:30 AM

    Hi Jo! Thank you for the very nice comment, and also for checking out my blog. I really appreciate it.

     
  3. LM

    August 15, 2011 at 7:40 AM

    Hi Jenna! I’ve had a peek at your current postings and agree with Jo; these are really something! I could look at them over and over again, and they make your yard seem very well kept and inviting. =)

     
  4. LM

    August 15, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    Jenna–I’ve peeked in to catch up on your latest postings. I agree with Jo–those photos are amazing!! Your yard looks so well kept and inviting. =)

     
  5. LM

    August 15, 2011 at 7:42 AM

    Oops I didn’t see that the first one posted. Sorry!!

     
  6. Jenna

    August 15, 2011 at 8:44 AM

    Hi Lisa! Great to see you here on my blog. Thank you for the really nice comments. I’m so glad you like my photos. Sadly, the flowers have seen their best days and are now wilting and fading earlier than usual. Thanks again for checking in and posting. I appreciate it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
