RSS

Junk Sculpture – Horse and Rider

28 Jul

Sometimes, the creativity to put things down on paper lags, causing the dreaded “creative slump”…any of you who create know exactly what this feels like, and know that it is almost physically painful when you can’t seem to find your passion and love for creativity.  I’ve had times where I sit at my art desk, fidgeting and squirming because I simply cannot decide what to draw.  I make a few little lines, but then erase them.  It is a painful time. 😉

But then…sometimes…creativity surfaces in a new way.  For example, recently, I discovered gels for textured acrylic painting.  Perhaps I’ll get into that more in another post.  For now, I’ll share what I created a few years ago out of assorted found objects (…junk…).

This was made using all sorts of different items, and is held together by items, as well as glue (hot glue, metal glue, any kind of glue I could find, really), wire, clothes hangers, and magnets.

Here is a list of the items I used if you’re interested in reading about it.

-Chain links (rather, one great big one for the body)

-Saw Blades from a piece of farm machinery (horse’s face)

-Wooden Handle from a kitchen utensil (horse’s neck)

-Decorative Slate/Rock from a water fountain (the platform the horse stands on)

-Beaded Decoration (tail)

-Strip of frayed fabric (horse’s mane)

-Bolts, nuts, and screws (legs, hooves, and eyes)

-Necklace…a very tacky, dated, owl necklace (it was hideous, but a goldmine for this sculpture.  The round horse-rump was the owl’s body – held on with glue.  The Native American’s mohawk was the owl’s wings [held in place with wire].  The little embellishment on his leg is from the necklace, also.)

-Horseshoe (it seemed fitting for this western sculpture.  The man’s legs.)

-Decorative Skeleton Key (man’s body.  It fit tightly on the horseshoe, and then I used very strong glue to hold it there permanently.)

-Old Fishing Reel Handle (arms)

-Beads, Coin (necklace…this and the arms are held in place with wire)

-Black Wire Clothes Hanger (while this may look like just a decoration, it actually is holding the horse’s head and neck in place by going through the neck [handle], down below the body, and wrapping around the body several times.  I left the coils for visual interest.)

The horse is glued to the slate, and the legs are held to the body by very powerful magnets (you can see they’re red and green).  The rider is also held to the horse with a magnet.  The saw blades that make for the triangular horse head hold their shape by the wires that are wrapped around them – it also makes for a “halter” of sorts.

The sculpture stands almost twelve inches tall.

Finally, I’ll include a number of angles and closeups so you can see this from all angles.  I hope you enjoy seeing my sculpture.  I have a couple more of these junk sculptures that I may share at another time.

All comments are welcome and appreciated. Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2011 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

8 responses to “Junk Sculpture – Horse and Rider

  1. Kyodi Larson

    August 10, 2011 at 3:27 PM

    I absolutely love this Jen!

     
  2. Jenna

    August 10, 2011 at 10:51 PM

    Well hello, Jodi! Thank you so much for the nice comment. I really appreciate it. I’m glad you like my sculpture. It was fun to make, and I have been collecting some old wrenches and chains and other assorted items for another sculpture similar to this. I hope to get to work on it soon.

    Thanks for looking at my blog. It means a lot. 🙂

     
  3. Jo Castillo

    August 28, 2011 at 4:30 PM

    This is great! I love art that is fun and makes you smile. I’m anxious to see what’s next, too.

     
  4. Jenna

    August 28, 2011 at 5:16 PM

    Thanks, Jo! I’m glad this made you smile. 🙂

     
  5. KatiesCameraBlog

    October 8, 2011 at 7:59 AM

    Your wonderful comment on my fine art photography page had me coming back to your blog for a further look, and you just have such talent. I was admiring your drawings/paintings and I was going to comment on those, but then I saw your horse and rider, and I spontaneously just clapped my hands from joy (kind of like a little kid 🙂 ). I just love work like this. It’s so creative and so many things to look at, and what better than a horse and rider, it puts in mind Don Quixote to me in a way.

    I really admire creative minds that can do things like this. To take so many different objects and bring them together like this. Wow. It takes looking at the world in a different way, and I commend you for that. Can’t wait to see more of what you do!

     
  6. Jenna

    October 8, 2011 at 6:24 PM

    Thank you so much, Katie. I’m so happy this piece cause such a reaction for you. It is wonderful to know this sculpture is enjoyed and makes people smile (or clap their hands 🙂 )

    This was a labor of love, and took a lot of reworking to make everything stay put. I’m so glad it is appreciated. Thanks again! 🙂

     
  7. Sartenada

    April 2, 2012 at 9:47 AM

    I repeat once more, Your art works are awesome.

    Maybe my post

    Art made from plates, chains and bolts,

    could give to You more ideas.

    Happy blogging!

     
    • Jenna

      April 2, 2012 at 11:03 AM

      Hi Sartenada, and thank you very much for the kind comments! I’m so happy you like my sculptures.Your post is wonderful, and I love the sculptures! Those chains really make for some great textures in them. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
