RSS

The Phantom of the Opera

28 Aug

This is a drawing I worked on for the majority of a year.  Colored pencil is funny that way…you can take as long as you want, because the layers and layers of color really do pay off in the long run.

This drawing has special meaning to me, because I’d had a life-threatening experience with severe pancreatitis and gallstones.  Over the course of one winter (2009/2010), I had several surgeries and spent about 14 days in the hospital, some of that time in ICU.  To this day, I am very, very grateful to be alive.  Recovery time was slow and hard, and included a full liquid diet for a grand total of 8 weeks because I couldn’t manage to keep food down.  I did lose 20 pounds in that time, which was nice, but it was no fun not being able to eat food.

I had a hard time being creative at that time, as I was always very sleepy and was in a lot of pain.  I was tired of my sad little doodles, so I decided to challenge myself with something in color.  I’d had my eye on a certain image from “The Phantom of the Opera” and decided it was finally time to take it on.  So, sit back and relax to a bit of the Phantom’s music as you view the drawing and its progress images.  Enjoy!

“The Phantom and Christine”

10×10 inches

Graphite for the preliminary sketch, and Faber-Castell polychromos colored pencils.  I’d say which colors I used, but I used just about the whole box of 120 colors at some point or another for this drawing.

In most any given area, there are 15-30 layers of certain colors to get the colors you see in the completed drawing.

And now, I’ll post the images.  I hope you like it.  This one is rather special to me because it was my “healing drawing”.  It helped bring me back to my love for art.

I’ll also post this image…this one and the one above it are both of the finished drawing…but one is scanned, and the other is a photo.  The warmer colors (and shape…it is a square drawing) of the above image are the most accurate, but the details of the image below are also accurate.

I’ll also post an older colored pencil drawing I did of the Phantom.  This one is a 5×7 inch drawing.  Hope you like this one, too.

Thank you for looking!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2011 in All Artwork, Colored Pencil

 

7 responses to “The Phantom of the Opera

  1. janukke

    August 29, 2011 at 7:31 AM

    I am so very glad you are alive too!!!

    And your art is impressive and amazing. You are very talented. I cannot say that often enough. It is fun to read your blog and a joy to see more of and learn more about your art!

     
  2. Jenna

    August 29, 2011 at 1:27 PM

    Thank you so much, Jana. I really appreciate it.

     
  3. Mom

    September 3, 2011 at 8:19 AM

    Morning Jenna!
    I just read your post about the Phantom and your winter before…what a time that was. I am so very glad you challenged yourself with this art…you have made an amazing recovery in many, many ways. I love you so much and will always treasure our time together while you were sick and then recovering. There were many long nights of sharing our thoughts and watching silly tv in the middle of the night! God was with you every step of the way and continues to be there for you now, too.
    love, mom

     
  4. Jenna

    September 3, 2011 at 12:35 PM

    Hi Mom,

    Thank you so much for this wonderful and uplifting reply. I treasure those memories, too, and couldn’t have gotten through it without you and Dad being there every step of the way. Thank you for everything you have done and still do for my sake. It means more than I can say.

    Of course, the Lord was with me through it all, too, and still is. How wonderful to have that assurance!

    Thanks for the comments. Love you too!

     
  5. Inspired and pretty

    December 6, 2011 at 9:10 PM

    This is soooooooo beautiful ! Wow ! You are very talented ! I’m glad to see you recovered from this grave sickness. Take care.

     
  6. Jenna

    December 6, 2011 at 10:36 PM

    Thank you so much, Inspired and Pretty! I’m happy you like this. It was truly a labor of love. I really appreciate your wonderful comments about the drawing and about my getting better. I’m so thankful to have survived it. Thank you. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
