RSS

Texas Longhorn…finished at last!

06 Sep

After putting this off for too long, I finally just sat down and finished the thing.  I want something new to draw anyway, and this was starting to get in the way.  Anyway, I did end up putting a shadow behind him.  I felt that he needed to be grounded to really make this work.  I also feel it balances the drawing better as a whole.

I pushed the darks throughout the image, especially along the left shoulder and neck.  I gave the horns a little more definition and depth too.  In the reference image, the horns are very light, but they would not have shown very well if I’d let them stay so light in the drawing.

Texas Longhorn

-11×14 inches on Strathmore 400 series Bristol Smooth paper

-Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens (sizes Superfine and Fine) and also Staedtler Pigment Liner Sketch Pen ( 0.1 mm size)

Just because I have been fiddling with this one for too long, I stuck it in its frame immediately after my last sitting with it yesterday.  Here he is, completed.  However, I may paint the frame black, as it seems that any color at all really does compete with a black and white drawing.

Hope you like it.  Prints are available.  If interested, please email me for more details.  Thank you for looking.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2011 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

2 responses to “Texas Longhorn…finished at last!

  1. janukke

    September 6, 2011 at 4:43 PM

    Congrats for finishing! And thank you so much for sharing your work, it´s just great. That longhorn is an impressive drawing. And that little bit of background adds so much to the depth of the drawing. It is perfect! 🙂

    Jana

     
  2. Jenna

    September 7, 2011 at 2:48 PM

    Hi Jana. Thank you! 🙂 I am so happy you enjoy seeing my work. It really means a lot. It’s a relief to know the shadow paid off…it was a hard thing to decide on, but I feel it finishes it better. Thanks again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
