RSS

Bullmastiff

07 Sep

There’s something I just love about dogs with wrinkled up noses.  Boxers, pugs, bulldogs, bullmastiffs, etc.  They are so beautiful.  Which brings me to the purpose of this post…a portrait of a bullmastiff.  I liked the black face and the fawn colored fur of this animal.  I always mean to draw more dogs, as they vary so widely in appearance.

Bullmastiff

-Approximately 11×11 inches, drawn on Strathmore Bristol 500 series Plate.  This is an extremely smooth paper that is of good quality and stands up to a lot of layering.  It was a bit tricky to get the darks I wanted because of the very smooth surface.  The drawing is a bit lighter than I’d have liked it to be, but it took about as much as it could.

-Graphite (I like to use mechanical pencils more than wood pencils because of the small, sharp lead.)  I used mainly HB mechanical, as well as some 2B clutch pencil.

Thanks for looking.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in All Artwork, Graphite

 

2 responses to “Bullmastiff

  1. Inspired and pretty

    December 6, 2011 at 9:16 PM

    Wonderful drawing. I am in awe of your talent ! I hope you’re not annoyed by all the comments I have made, I just had to, it’s too beautiful ! I hope I didn’t make too much mistakes, I’m french Canadian from Quebec.

     
  2. Jenna

    December 6, 2011 at 10:41 PM

    Thank you very much! I’m not annoyed in the least by the comments. I’m always so happy to see new comments waiting for me. 🙂 You’ve made my day with your kind words, Inspired and Pretty. Thank you. Your language is just fine. 🙂 By the way, I’ve been checking out your blog. I love your photography! Some very beautiful images there. I’m a big fan of vintage things, as well. Thanks again. It is appreciated.

     

Leave a Reply

 
