RSS

Cattle Doodling

08 Oct

I’m not generally a sketcher…I like to sit down with a clean, crisp sheet of paper, reference image close by, and dedicate my time to a slow, concentrated effort at drawing.  I’ll have a single drawing on my table for one or two months at a time before I can be content with the completed drawing.

However, recently, I was inspired to relax a bit, grab a pen and a sketch pad, and just have fun for a change.  It’s not as if I don’t like drawing detailed work – I live for that!  I just had a lot of fun with quick work for a change.

Here is what I ended up with.  This first one took me about an hour and a half total.  It’s just a plain ball point pen, with some Faber-Castell marker in the background for the touch of color.  It is 7×10 inches in size.  Sorry about the poor quality of the image.  I just laid this on my scanner rather than taking a photo.

This one is also 7×10, ball point pen.  I used a reference where these two animals were actually butting heads, but I ended up drawing them on separate pages.  This one below took about two hours.  It was a nice, quick practice and quite relaxing.  Again, sorry about the poor image.

Thanks for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2011 in All Artwork, Sketches

 

4 responses to “Cattle Doodling

  1. janukke

    October 9, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    That´s incredible! 🙂 Totally awesome. The texture of the skin is perfect. And so is the expression. I am totally speechless. This is genius. Keep it coming! Love your sketching.

     
  2. Jenna

    October 9, 2011 at 12:10 PM

    Thank you so much, Jana! I’m glad you like it. I wanted to use two different sketching styles for these…the first is cross hatching, and the second is just quick, loose work. I always tend to strive for realism, so I like the second a bit more. He was more fun to sketch, too. Thank you much! Recently, there has been more enthusiasm for sketching on the Southwestern/Western part of WetCanvas, so they have inspired me. I’d like to do some more quick sketches.

     
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    October 9, 2011 at 4:31 PM

    I really like these a lot. I’d just like to meet the first cow :), and then the 2nd one the hair is just amazing on that. Great job, Jenna! 🙂

     
  4. Jenna

    October 10, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    Thank you so much, Katie. I’m glad you like them. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
