RSS

Oliver and Company

16 Oct

This is my wonderful cat, Oliver.  He is my sidekick, my little friend, and my shadow.  He is an extraordinary animal who always knows just when to find me when I need him.  I know he’s “just a cat”, but I can’t imagine a better cat than my Ollie.  Of course, just because he is so wonderful doesn’t mean he isn’t a typical tom cat.  As with any self-respecting cat, my Oliver believes he is the King of the World. 😉  I must have over a thousand pictures of Oliver, so he’ll probably show up again, but for now, I’ll just post these.

This is one of my newest of him.  He loves to curl up on the bathroom sink (especially if he is thirsty).  It’s the perfect shape for him, and he gets very comfortable there.  He has a sense of humor. 🙂

These are some of the steers that are being fattened.  They love to visit with me while I walk along their fence to find photo opportunities.  Cattle are generally hard for me to photograph, but these fellows all lined up just right as they grazed.

And finally, this little fellow was happily eating a walnut one evening around sunset, and I was lucky enough to get close for some pictures.  He was pretty brave to stay put as I inched closer.  It must have been a yummy snack.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2011 in Photography

 

9 responses to “Oliver and Company

  1. analoguejimi

    October 16, 2011 at 2:20 PM

    lovely!

     
  2. Jenna

    October 16, 2011 at 3:11 PM

    Analoguejimi, thank you so much! 🙂 I was just over looking at your blog. You take beautiful pictures!

     
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    October 16, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    Terrific photos, Jenna! Oliver is stunning. I love tabby cats, and his eyes are just gorgeous. You do him justice with your photography. Feel free to share photos of him often. 😉 Love those red squirrel photos too. The light is gorgeous on them, and i really like how the squirrel is interacting with the camera. Very nice! 🙂

     
  4. janukke

    October 17, 2011 at 4:27 AM

    Great pictures! 🙂 My favourite is the one with Oliver curling up in the sink! 😀

    Jana

     
  5. Jenna

    October 17, 2011 at 11:45 AM

    Hi Katie. Thank you so much! That means a lot. Oliver is a pretty fellow, and I take pictures of him just about every week to try and cherish every moment with him. If you didn’t notice already, I am certainly a cat person. He’s seven years old…and he just couldn’t be any sweeter. However, he is rather like a guard dog…he doesn’t especially like company. He can be a little naughty if they try to hold him. He is fiercely loyal to me. 🙂

    Thanks for the comments on the squirrel photos, too. This guy was very small, could almost sit in the palm of my hand. I believe he was a young Pine Squirrel. Thanks again!

    Thanks, Jana! Haha, Oliver loves his sink bed. 😉 He sometimes curls up in there if he is feeling left out. He knows he’ll be spotted there sooner or later. 🙂

     
    • KatiesCameraBlog

      October 20, 2011 at 5:22 PM

      Ah, nice that you’re a cat person! I always call myself a cat person, who just happens to adore my Boxer dog (and other Boxers). 🙂 My cat is also more dog like. He love attention, but he adores dogs and he just saunters up to them all relaxed and let them smell his butt and everything. It’s amazing. Dogs just look at him like he’s some freak. But they never chase him or anything.

      All cats have their own personalities. 😉 My cat, he’s a British Shorthair, is really affectionate with me, but tends to ignore people coming to visit. He doesn’t hide or anything, but if they come towards him, he’ll just walk away. I adore tabby cats, and Oliver is just beautiful!

       
      • Jenna

        October 21, 2011 at 12:37 PM

        I certainly am a cat person. My cats pretty much own me. 😉 Of course, it’s very possible to be a cat person and a dog person at the same time. Just because I am crazy about Oliver, doesn’t mean I don’t love the dog, Simon (have photos of him to share someday, too). He’s a beagle. However, I can’t imagine a more beautiful and cheerful looking dog than the boxer. I once had a Boxer/Lab mix (can’t currently afford a purebred boxer), and I loved him! I had to rehome him, though, sadly, because he took to killing a neighbor’s chickens. It is a bad memory, seeing him go. However, I hope that one day, I can have a boxer, because they are pretty much my dream dog. I can imagine you cherish your boxer. 🙂

        That’s funny about your cat ignoring company. I love how cats are so loyal to their owners only in some cases. It’s a bit of fun to be the only one your cat(s) really love. 😉

        Thanks again. Oliver would be very proud to know he’s beautiful.

         
  6. Lenore Busch

    October 18, 2011 at 6:48 PM

    Hi Jen. You do take good photos. I just love the squirrel pictures……….Lenore

     
  7. Jenna

    October 18, 2011 at 7:19 PM

    Well hello, Lenore! It is so great to hear from you. 🙂 Thank you so much for the nice comments. I really appreciate it. Hope you’re dong well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
