RSS

Powerhouse Cow

20 Oct

Here is another of my sculptures made of junk.  This was a gift I made for my dad for Father’s Day.  This is not a new project.  I made this a few years ago.  He was still milking cows at the time, and he became frustrated at times because the cows could be so finicky.  As a joke, I made this wobbly little sculpture for him, complete with a note:

First, I’d like to say that it truly is very tricky to make this thing stand on its own (design flaws on my part…but in the end, that was ok).  Luckily, she is somewhat moveable – she can stand, or sit.  Not many people know that a number of cows sit like dogs from time to time.  They sure look silly!  Anyway, this cow is displayed sitting for stability and ease of display.  I’ll post photos of her standing and sitting.

Here is what she is made of:

Her big, round body is an old, old coffee can that spent years out in the weather.  Her head is part of a light fixture (her head is held on by a long spring that is connected to the inside of the coffee can with wire.  Her ears are hooks from fence handles (we have a can full of spares in a shed), and that little golden tuft of “fur” at the top of her head is from an ugly old necklace that I took apart for projects like this.  The wire number 30 in her ear also has meaning.  For some reason, every cow we had that was a tag number 30 was always characteristically stubborn and difficult…yet so very charming.  The eyes are small buttons – wired into the head.

Her legs are just old scraps of metal that I’d had my eyes on for awhile.  Her white hooves were a bit of an afterthought.  The points of metal slipped on most surfaces, so I put four of those chair foot caps on her feet, and now she can grip the ground with ease.

Her hip bones are just some sort of rubber caps from something.  I’ve always liked the big, round hip bones cattle have.  Her tail is just an old rope that I found this way – I cut it to the right length and wired it on.  The loop of metal at the top of the tail is part of the spring holding the head up.  I’m not sure what I used for the square metal part of her back end – it just looked right there.  Her udder is also just some sort of metal item that looked about right (even though it looks like she is a two-quarter cow).

She stands (or sits) at about 8 inches tall and is roughly 12 inches long.

I think that about covers it.  She is held together with only wire of varying sizes.  I have most of the parts to do a new horse sculpture, and I’m working on it.  It will be my largest sculpture to date.  Hope to post that soon, too.

Thanks for looking at my little “Powerhouse Cow”. 🙂

(Click to view larger images.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2011 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

2 responses to “Powerhouse Cow

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    October 20, 2011 at 5:19 PM

    This is marvelous! What a great present for your father. You are just ingenious with these pieces of art. 🙂

     
  2. Jenna

    October 21, 2011 at 12:39 PM

    Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
