RSS

Great-Grandpa’s Art

23 Oct

A few years ago, my grandparents gave me a box of old family photos and items.  I cherish history, and to have this box of precious snap shots from the 1950s and well before, as well as some other wonderful things, is a priceless gift.

When I first got this box of family history, I looked through it, enjoyed every second of it, and then packed it carefully into the box again and put it in my closet.

Something made me want to look through it again a few days ago, and it meant even more to me than it did when I first looked at it.  I was so thrilled by all the photos and papers and even a clip on earring that appears to be from the 1940s (just a guess).  I was practically gushing as I looked through it, for I cannot believe these things were given to me!

As I started to reach the bottom of the box, I found something that was so wonderful that I just about choked up.  I found what appears to be an original ink wash painting by my great-grandfather Alfred in the year 1921.  He was 15 years old at the time.

Whether it was a school project, or his own creativity, I don’t know, but he attached his painting to a stiff card with a small calendar at the bottom.  Its year is 1921, and this piece is also dated on the back.  What a treasure!  Maybe my love for art comes, at least in part, from my great-grandpa Alfred. 🙂

The back.  You can see the name and date at the bottom, the scanner clipped it off a bit though.

It says 1921, and then Alfred Peterson (I think Peterson is the second part of the line).

A photograph of Alfred and his brother (I think) Jens.  Alfred is the one standing.  (How cool are those boots? 🙂 )

I don’t know who it is that’s peeking out the window in the door.  Someone shy, evidently. 😉

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2011 in Odds and Ends (Uncategorized)

 

9 responses to “Great-Grandpa’s Art

  1. janukke

    October 23, 2011 at 4:13 PM

    What a cool drawing. And how awe-inspiring that it was your great-grandfather made it as a teenager. He is looking real cool on that photograph. And how funny that there´s someone peeking through the window of the door!

    Aw, it is so much fun reading your blog!

    Jana

     
  2. KatiesCameraBlog

    October 23, 2011 at 7:46 PM

    How wonderful to have these things from your family’s history! I love history too, and wish I had things like that. 🙂 And those names, Petersen, Alfred and Jens. I know those from my family history also (not that we’re related though, as they were popular). Don’t you love seeing how art was a part of your family’s history also? So fun! And thank you so much for sharing. I love things like this. 🙂

     
  3. Jenna

    October 23, 2011 at 8:39 PM

    Thanks so much, Jana! I find it so amazing to hold this artwork, something that was made so long ago, and by a relative, besides. It is truly an awesome feeling. I have to agree…Alfred looks rather handsome. There’s something about him that reminds me of Leonardo DiCaprio’s character Jack Dawson from the movie Titanic. 😉 I always liked Jack Dawson…I might one day draw him just for fun. It’s one of my favorite movies.

    I have to admit, though…if there’s any family resemblence at all, it’s probably more to Jens. I have got extremely unruly, overly-thick hair, so I probably got that trait from Jens sitting there. Also, I mean…the names? Jens and Jen? Haha! 😉

    I have to wonder if there’s a story behind the person looking through the window. 😀

    Thank you very much! Your kind words mean a lot.

    I love having these items, Katie. They mean a lot to me, and this was just a highlight. Inside my box of family things, there is a big photo album that is nearly full of candid snapshots from the ’20s and newer. And not just people, but the family dogs, cats, pigs, horses, homes, cars, and the like. It is so fun to see these!

    How interesting that you have the same names in your family tree. I haven’t heard the name Jens very often, I rather like it for a man.

    I love that art has a place in my family’s history! It makes me appreciate the passion even more. It’s hereditary. 😉 I’m so glad you like it. Thanks for the comments (and the Like). 🙂

     
  4. usermattw

    February 1, 2013 at 1:20 AM

    What wonderful treasures!

     
    • Jenna

      February 1, 2013 at 2:43 PM

      Thanks for the comment, Matt! I had a feeling you would think so. I truly cherish these items. 🙂

       
  5. Photobooth Journal

    February 1, 2013 at 2:22 PM

    I couldn’t see the face until I enlarged the picture and wow, there he is! Your great-grandfather Alfred is very good looking and his brother a cool dude. It could be a much more contemporary postrait than it is. I found your link at Matt’s blog. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Jenna

      February 1, 2013 at 3:21 PM

      Hi Photobooth Journal. Yes, that face is rather elusive until you see the photo at full size, then it becomes quite clear. Thank you. I think Alfred and Jens were handsome men. It does have a somewhat modern and casual pose, doesn’t it? I just checked out your blog and find it quite interesting! Such a great theme to go with – photobooth portraits. Thanks so much for checking out my blog and for the comments! I appreciate it. 🙂

       
      • Photobooth Journal

        February 2, 2013 at 1:16 PM

        And thanks for checking out mine!

         
      • Jenna

        February 2, 2013 at 5:05 PM

        It is a great blog! It was fun to look around. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
