RSS

The Cozy Red Sign

27 Oct

In my studio, I have a closet door that is marred by old stickers that were put there some time ago.

Unsightly, is it not?  The stickers do not want to come up no matter what I try, so I had to think of a way to cover the stickers up so they would stop bothering me.  They are along one side of the door, right above the knob, so it’s an odd space.

I decided to make a sign to cover it.  I first thought I’d make a sign out of junk that said “Studio”, but things just didn’t want to come together for that idea.  However, as I started laying my assorted items, gooble-gobbles (as I fondly call my little childhood trinkets and items), and junk on the board I was to use as a ground, things just started to shape up differently than I first expected.

This is what came of it.  The board is 3×16 inches, and I used acrylics to paint it black and red, then went over the paints with acrylic gel (great for textures and sheen).  I found out accidentally that acrylic gel makes for one of the strongest adhesives I’ve ever tried.  How did I find this out?  I accidentally glued a canvas to my easel with the stuff.  😉  I used the gel to glue all of the items into place, and then put a couple of generous coats of it over most of the items so they’d have a uniform sheen.

Almost every item on this piece holds special meaning to me or represents a part of my life.

A few close-ups and angles.

Oops!  Kitty whiskers are showing along the top and left side of this photo…Obviously, one of my cats wanted to be the center of attention.  What else is new? 😉

Now I just have to hang it up.

Thanks for looking.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

2 responses to “The Cozy Red Sign

  1. janukke

    October 28, 2011 at 3:53 AM

    That´s one great sign! So good to see it on your blog. 🙂

     
  2. Jenna

    October 28, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    Thanks so much, Jana! I appreciate it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
