RSS

A Boxer in the Makings

30 Oct

Finally, I seem to have broken free of my slump, and am now thoroughly enjoying a new drawing.  This time, it’s a boxer, which is pretty much my dream dog.  Since I can’t currently own one, I’ll just have to draw and dream. 🙂

This is 8×10 inches on Strathmore 400 Series Bristol Smooth paper.  I’ve got the graphite outline, and am starting with the ink.  For ink, I’m using Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens and Staedtler Pigment Liner Sketch Pens.  I like the 0.1 mm size for the fine details.

This one is going rather quickly for now.  I suppose it just feels great to draw again, so I can’t stay away.

Hope you like it so far.  Please excuse the poor photos…it’s been cloudy and dark out, so I’ve had to use the flash…it doesn’t work very well, but you get the idea.

I started with the ear.  It looked like the most difficult part, so I wanted to get it done first.

The neck area.

This is what he looks like as of now.  I hope to draw some more this afternoon.  It’s chilly and rainy…the perfect day for drawing!

Thanks for looking.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2011 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

6 responses to “A Boxer in the Makings

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    October 30, 2011 at 10:22 PM

    omgomgomgomg! I ADORE BOXERS! Have you seen the photos of my girl on my site? I cannot wait to see how you finish this, Jenna. And you made me laugh with the choke/chain collar on the Boxer. Truly a Boxer. 🙂 I can see in the final photo, how you’re giving this dog great upturn of chin (love that!) and those wonderful Boxer eyes. Wonderful, Jenna. I’m so glad you’re out of your slump! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      November 1, 2011 at 1:47 PM

      Haha, I can tell you love boxers, Katie. I have seen pictures of your boxer, indeed, and she is gorgeous! What is her name? How old is she? Your photos of her are stunning!

      The chain collar was just what was in my reference image, but I thought it added a nice little touch. Thank you so much for the very nice comments. I really appreciate it. It’s good to know that someone who owns a boxer likes how this looks. 🙂

       
      • KatiesCameraBlog

        November 1, 2011 at 8:40 PM

        Thanks, Jenna! My girl’s name is Sprigg and she’s just turned 15 months old. She’s so wonderful and people stop and tell me how pretty she is all the time. It’s so much fun! I hope you get a Boxer someday! 🙂

         
  2. janukke

    October 31, 2011 at 11:46 AM

    Wow, how do you do it? Every time I think one of your drawings is the most wonderful ever done I get totally excited when I see that the next one will turn out even better! How cool you are back to drawing!

     
    • Jenna

      November 1, 2011 at 1:50 PM

      Hi Jana. Wow, your very generous comment has me grinning from ear to ear. Thank you so, so much for the very nice words! I’m glad you like the looks of this. I have been working on it, and will post an update soon. Thanks again! 🙂

       
  3. Jenna

    November 2, 2011 at 6:27 PM

    Sprigg, what a perfect name for her. I can see how she would make people stop and say how pretty she is. Thank you; I hope so, too. Even if I am a cat person at heart, I do love dogs, too. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
