RSS

Chief in Charcoal

13 Nov

Here is an older one (while I try to get my act together on the Boxer drawing).  I used a rather different method of drawing for this piece.  I covered the whole paper with a reasonable layer of charcoal, and then erased out the image.  It was fun, and maybe I’ll do something like this again one day.

It is 5×7 inches in size, and drawn with charcoal.  I assume this was drawn on some sort of charcoal paper, as the texture is quite pronounced.  The paper is a natural, sandstone sort of color.  I liked the way it looked with the charcoal.  This is one of those drawings that looks better from a distance than it does up close. 😉

For lack of a better title, I call this “Chief in Charcoal”.

Thanks for looking.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2011 in All Artwork, Charcoal Drawings

 

4 responses to “Chief in Charcoal

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    November 13, 2011 at 8:06 PM

    Amazing work doing it like that, Jenna. Just wonderful. I like the texture that the paper gave it too. Great details also. And we can wait on the Boxer. At least, I have my own to look at whenever I want. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      November 13, 2011 at 9:25 PM

      Thank you so much for the very kind comment, Katie! I’m so glad you like this. I hope to get back to that Boxer soon…just some other things have come up. You’re so lucky to have your Boxer there to admire. 🙂 She is a beauty!

       
  2. janukke

    November 15, 2011 at 10:06 AM

    Another one of you drawings I have never seen before. It is amazing! Great technique too. The darks make it a little mysterious and very expressive. Love it.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Jana

     
  3. Jenna

    November 15, 2011 at 5:11 PM

    Sorry I hadn’t shown this piece to you before, Jana. I have quite a few drawings, so I guess I lose track of some of them. Thank you so much for the very kind words! I am a fan of black backgrounds in artwork for the mysterious and emotional point of view, as you mentioned. Thank you! It means a lot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
