RSS

Back to the Boxer

06 Dec

Finally, finally, I’ve got some progress to post!  I’ve been busy working on a drawing for a friend for an Art Swap that takes place at WetCanvas.  That drawing is almost finished now, so I’m looking at this Boxer again.  Sorry, but I can’t post the drawing for my WetCanvas friend until after he gets it.  It is a gift, after all…I’d hate to spoil the surprise! 🙂

This Boxer fellow may not look too different than he did in my last post, but I’ve spent a couple of hours on him since I last posted an update.  The mask on his face is what I’ve been focusing on.  It takes time to get the darks I’ll need, so it’s still looking a little pale.

A close-up…

And an extreme close-up… 🙂

Thanks for looking.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2011 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

2 responses to “Back to the Boxer

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    December 6, 2011 at 11:32 PM

    I think you’re doing great with this. As a Boxer owner (as you know), I know that the mask and the Boxer head is quite intricate with the wrinkles and folds. I would imagine it takes a lot of time with the wonderful way you draw.

    And how lucky that your friend is getting some of your art! I can’t wait to see it.

    And I sent you a private email with another photo of that fairy I posted today. He is a real fairy. 🙂

    Take care, Jenna! 🙂

     
  2. Jenna

    December 7, 2011 at 12:57 PM

    Thanks very much! I’m realizing that the wrinkly, pock marked snout on this guy is like a maze. If I didn’t have a reference image to work from, I would never realize how complex the Boxer snout really is! 😉

    Thanks. I hope my friend will like the piece I’ve done. 🙂

    Thank you for the email, too. It’s a great sculpture and a great photo, too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
