RSS

Winter Has Come

06 Dec

And it is glorious!  The snow clings to the branches of the trees and the left-over red apples.  It has transformed the familiar landscape once again into a lovely new world.  It is such fun to explore it with the camera.  Granted, my fingers were numb as I worked the camera bare-handed, but it was well worth it!  This is a photo-heavy post, but I just can’t resist!  I hope you enjoy the winter wonderland! 🙂

 

My favorite tree.  I take pictures of this tree many times a year.

 

The cats have been running and playing happily in the snow.  This is the first time they’ve seen winter.  This is Puffy.  Don’t be fooled by his tomcat scowl – he’s one of the sweetest cats out there!

Notice how these two are both holding a paw off the ground.  They aren’t used to the cold, either.

Simon, on the other hand, just waits by the door.  He loves being outside, but when it’s cold, he much prefers the house.

 

Yet, while the outside world is white and chilly, my Oliver stays indoors, savoring the luxuries of being a house cat.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2011 in Photography

 

6 responses to “Winter Has Come

  1. Inspired and pretty

    December 6, 2011 at 9:00 PM

    Beautiful pictures, I love them all ! Your favorite tree is amazing and so majestic. Here, in Quebec, we had snow 2 weeks ago but it all melted.

     
  2. Jenna

    December 6, 2011 at 10:31 PM

    Hi Inspired and Pretty. Thank you very much for the kind comments on my photos. My favorite tree is old, knarled, and full of character. It’s got this big root above ground that makes the perfect seat. I’ve spent hours there. We usually get snow earlier in the year than now (I’m in Wisconsin), so it’s a welcome change. 🙂 I hope you get some snow again for Christmas. I always love a white Christmas.

     
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    December 6, 2011 at 11:29 PM

    Oh, I love these, Jenna! Wonderful snow photos. And i adore that you have a favorite tree! I do too! 🙂 And those cat photos are wonderful. I haven’t let my cat out into the snow, but I need to do that. i don’t think he’s ever set his feet in snow. My Boxer (all my boxers have) loves snow! Great post! 🙂

     
  4. Jenna

    December 7, 2011 at 12:33 PM

    Thank you so much, Katie! There are certain trees that have so much personality and life… I like trees, it’s as simple as that. 🙂 Oliver, he’s a house cat, and only goes outside when he manages to sneak out by himself. He’s seen snow, and he doesn’t care for it. The outdoor cats, they’re tough and rugged…they seem to enjoy it. Your beautiful cat will probably be in for a surprise when he steps in the cold snow. 🙂 Your Boxer, and those you’ve had before, must be more playful than our Beagle. He’s a bit of a bum…just waits to sleep in the house. Thanks again for the nice comments! 😀

     
  5. zorgor

    December 24, 2011 at 10:49 PM

    Wow, really beautiful photos! The forecast for Christmas here (Indiana) is a ridiculously warm 45 degrees, so I really like seeing these excellent snow photos!

    Thanks for visiting my blog the other day and happy holidays!

     
    • Jenna

      December 25, 2011 at 12:48 PM

      Thank you so much, Zorgor! We no longer have much snow either, due to warm weather and a dry forcast. I am glad you like my photos. Have a Merry Christmas! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
