RSS

Book Illustrations for “Cory”

10 Dec

When I was sixteen years old, I first tried my hand at writing a novel.  In hindsight, I do see it riddled with mistakes.  Even so, it was how I came to love writing.  It’s set in the late 19th century, and is about a boy named Cory who faces numerous struggles and turmoil from his childhood up until he is in his mid-twenties.  I was so enjoying the writing process that I ended up drawing some illustrations to go with my story.  Since it is a fiction, I had no real faces or settings for reference material when creating the illustrations, so these are from imagination.

What’s happening in the images probably won’t make a lot of sense, but I’ve decided to post them anyway.  I will post them in order as they are in the book.  These drawings are somewhat close to me, as I poured my heart and soul into this story and the illustrations to go with it.  Now as I see them, I can see that the characters’ clothing is hardly accurate to the late 1800s, and the proportions are off in some of them.  Even so, at the time I drew these, this was the best I could do without reference material.

They are all done in graphite, with the exception of the first one in color.  I printed a copy of my graphite drawing of this scene and went over it with colored pencils.  The color image is what I used for my book cover.  They are all roughly 5×7 inches in size.  You may click these to enlarge them and see the detail better.

I hope you like them, even if they don’t make much sense without the book to go with them.  Thank you for looking.

 
 

6 responses to “Book Illustrations for “Cory”

  1. janukke

    December 10, 2011 at 4:29 PM

    Wow, thanks a lot for sharing these illustrations! It´s a powerful story and those pictures are very energetic and full of emotions as well. Great work!

     
    • Jenna

      December 11, 2011 at 1:25 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! It means so much to me that you’ve read my book and have been so supportive of my writing. Thanks for the nice comments. 🙂

       
  2. KatiesCameraBlog

    December 11, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    I love these Jenna. And I can see why the story and the illustrations are so important to you. They do want me to know the story, as they are powerful and convey emotions and situations well. And I think those first real creative attempts do stick in our minds, don’t they? Wonderful that way. Loved this post.

     
    • Jenna

      December 11, 2011 at 1:31 PM

      Thank you very much, Katie! I’m glad these drawings portray emotion…that was the most important thing I wanted to convey. I agree; the early attempts do remain stark and vivid in our minds. For good reason, too, as we would be lost without those first tries to be creative. 🙂 Thanks again!

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    December 12, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    You are so talented ! The drawings are beautiful, I really like the third drawing from the top, so much details, and the one with the horse too. There seem to be a lot of action in this story ! Did you try to get published ? I think you should.
    Have a nice day !

     
    • Jenna

      December 12, 2011 at 9:01 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I really appreciate the kind comments. I’m glad you like the third one. It started as a study from an anatomy book. It’s been such a helpful book to learn about the anatomy of humans. I haven’t tried to get my book published…I’ve had a handful of copies bound and shared them with some family members and friends, that’s all. I’ve since written things that I feel somewhat more satisfied with, so if I should try to get something published, it would be my newer works, I think. I’d love to be a published, successful author someday. We’ll see. 🙂 Thank you for the nice comments. I hope you have a good day, too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
