RSS

Big Ben

15 Dec

I drew this several years ago.  Unfortunately, I seem to have forgotten to sign and date this piece.  If I remember correctly, this is about 6×15 inches in size.  I rarely draw buildings or any form of architecture, but every now and then, I like a challenge, so I try my hand at it.  Originally, this drawing was part of a set…I drew the Eiffel Tower in the same format.  That drawing sold, and I didn’t get a photo of that one.  So now, this drawing stands alone.  As I neared the finish of this drawing, I kept wondering what time to have it be on the clock.  Neither my birthdate nor birth minute would have worked, as both would have the hands overlapping.  Finally, I decided to make it the time it was when I finished the drawing.  Note that it was 2:33 AM, not PM…I often work best in the middle of the night when most people sleep.  😉

It was drawn on a fairly cheap paper, as this was before I learned the great importance of paper variety and quality.

This done in graphite.

…I suppose I should show the whole drawing.  The hardest part of this drawing was the writing at the bottom.  I’m left-handed, so my handwriting is really quite poor.  I worked long and hard at this cursive word, and yet, I still wish I had left it off altogether!

I hope you like this classic subject.  Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2011 in All Artwork, Graphite

 

4 responses to “Big Ben

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    December 16, 2011 at 10:21 AM

    Wow, Jenna. The detail on this, the intricacy. Just amazing. Great drawing, Jenna. 🙂

     
  2. Jenna

    December 16, 2011 at 12:06 PM

    Thank you so much, Katie! I really appreciate it. 🙂

     
  3. Amelia Louise Rees

    February 13, 2014 at 11:00 AM

    This is an awesome drawing! You did really well with the type at the bottom too, you should be glad you did it 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 13, 2014 at 9:06 PM

      Hi Amelia. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! I enjoyed looking around your blog; you do wonderful work!

       

Leave a Reply

 
