RSS

Macro Shots and Raindrops

21 Dec

I keep meaning to take some Christmas themed photos, but it’s been quite a busy week!  So for now, I just felt like posting some of my favorite photos from a single plant.  It was a beautiful day, interrupted briefly by a soft rain.  You could almost say it was a romantic kind of rain…warm, gentle, and beautiful.  It was hot the day I took these, and the water pooled in the leaves of the flowers in the most elegant way.  It was so lovely.

In this same day in June, I went for a slow stroll through the yard, searching for photo opportunities.  I found this handsome caterpillar happily eating a leaf and he made for a great subject.  This is one of my personal favorite photos, but then, I always have had a heart for bugs. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2011 in Photography

 

8 responses to “Macro Shots and Raindrops

  1. emquiltingwordpress

    December 22, 2011 at 12:01 AM

    Beautiful Work! Can’t wait to see whats next!

     
    • Jenna

      December 22, 2011 at 12:11 PM

      Thank you so much, emquiltingwordpress! I’m glad you like these. 🙂 I checked out your blog and am really impressed with your beautiful quilts!

       
  2. Mats

    December 22, 2011 at 7:01 AM

    Wonderful colors, really beautiful work!

    Happy holidays!

     
    • Jenna

      December 22, 2011 at 12:13 PM

      Thank you very much Mats! I really appreciate it. I was over looking at your blog and I really like your style of photography!

      Merry Christmas to you too. 🙂

       
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    December 22, 2011 at 9:17 AM

    Love these, especially the caterpillar! Wonderful photo there, Jenna. I love those little buggies too. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 22, 2011 at 12:15 PM

      Thank you, Katie! That caterpillar was enjoying the attention, I think. He kept reaching up, trying to crawl on my hand instead of pose for me. 😉 I entered this photo in a competition at our State Fair, but sadly, he didn’t even place because the winners were all beautiful butterflies. Oh well. 🙂 I thought he was handsome. Thanks again. I’m glad you like the bugs too.

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    December 22, 2011 at 10:58 AM

    These are beautiful shots, I love macro photography and geranium are among my favorite flowers. It’s beautiful how the light is reflecting on the raindrops. The photo of the caterpillar is amazing, this bug has lots of hair ! Isn’t it fun to get outside and look around to find something to shoot, I could do this all day long !
    Merry Christmas to you Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      December 22, 2011 at 12:23 PM

      Thank you, Jocelyne! I, too, love macro photography. It’s by far my favorite way to take photos. Up close, the tiniest things have so much detail…it’s a whole different world that we miss sometimes. I’m glad you like the geraniums! We don’t often plant them because they are messy, but I really thought they were beautiful last summer, so I’ll probably get them again in the spring. Thank you; I loved the high sheen of the water compared to the softness of the leaves. The sky was a pale gray from the rain, and it really was beautiful light to photograph. Thanks, too, for the nice comments on the caterpillar. Yes, he was very hairy! Kind of a punk style, too. I think he was a teenaged caterpillar. 😉

      Yes, one of my favorite things is to go outside and take photographs. Just wander slowly, looking for beauty in things I see every day.

      Merry Christmas to you too. Thanks for the nice comments. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
