RSS

Christmas Drawing and Card 2006

26 Dec

Here is another of my cards.  This time, I decided to break my graphite tradition and give this one a fresh feel with ink and colored pencil.  I was somewhat new to ink at the time…but I had fun using it for this drawing.  Back then I probably didn’t realize that I would come to almost favor ink over graphite.  My mom is very talented at calligraphy, so the lines written in the banners above and below the angel were done by her.  Isn’t she great at it?

It seems I forgot to sign and date this drawing, but I know it was ’06 because all my other Christmas drawings are dated.

Angel

-8×10 inches

-Done in ink, and then colored pencil for color.

-I used parchment paper for this one, as I wanted the antique look, and I also wanted the paper to work well for Mom’s calligraphy.  As you can see, the paper is somewhat transparent, especially when mounted on black paper.  I rather liked that quality though.

Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2011 in All Artwork, Christmas Drawings and Cards

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Christmas Drawing and Card 2006

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    December 27, 2011 at 8:09 AM

    Amazing detail on this, Jenna. Especially the wings. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 27, 2011 at 4:40 PM

      Thank you, Katie! The wings were my favorite part…so many shapes and overlapping parts. Less scary than drawing the face in ink! 😉

       
  2. janukke

    December 27, 2011 at 10:49 AM

    That´s another wonderful card! And a great choice of paper. Your mom is indeed talented as well! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 27, 2011 at 4:41 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! The paper may or may not hold up in the long run as well as art paper, but I do like the look of it. Yes, isn’t Mom gifted? Thanks for the comments.

       

Leave a Reply

 
