RSS

Christmas Drawing and Card 2010

29 Dec

No, I didn’t forget about the card from 2009.  That year, for the first time, there was no Christmas card to send out.  In November of that year, I became quite sick and was unable to make the cards.  It was hard to let it slip by, but I was far from able to work on it, so there was no choice.  Fortunately, I bounced back in 2010 and was able to get back on track.  The drawing of 2010 is my personal favorite of the Christmas series.  I used charcoal for this.  I love the rich, warm blacks that charcoal produces.

Mary and Baby Jesus

-8×10 inches in size

-Done in black and white charcoal on heavily textured watercolor paper.  I like watercolor paper for charcoal because the paper is a very nice weight, and the textures are excellent to work with!

The card appears a bit crooked in the image.  Sorry about that.

Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2011 in All Artwork, Christmas Drawings and Cards

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Christmas Drawing and Card 2010

  1. janukke

    December 30, 2011 at 1:19 AM

    And this is the first one you sent me! So I am probably biased, but anyhow, this is my favourite of all of them! 😀

    Now I am curious to find out about this year´s card!

     
    • Jenna

      December 31, 2011 at 2:25 PM

      That’s right, it was, wasn’t it, Jana? I’m so happy you like it, and I appreciate your kind comments.

      I know for a fact now that you have seen this year’s card in person. Nevertheless, I will be posting it shortly. Thank you. Happy New Year!

       
  2. KatiesCameraBlog

    December 30, 2011 at 8:22 AM

    Wow, amazing work on all of these cards, Jenna! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 31, 2011 at 2:25 PM

      Thank you very much, Katie! Happy New Year’s Eve.

       
  3. plaidoak

    December 30, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    Very nice work! I love working with charcoal.

     
    • Jenna

      December 31, 2011 at 2:26 PM

      Hi plaidoak. Thank you so much! How interesting that you like working in charcoal, too. What kind of work do you do? I’d love to see some of it. Thanks for the nice comments. Happy New Year’s Eve. 🙂

       
      • plaidoak

        January 1, 2012 at 10:13 PM

        It’s been awhile since I’ve done any new drawings, but I do love charcoal. I think it’s easy to work with to get the desired effects and it creates a warmness to the drawing. Lately, I have been more into hand painting furniture and photography. I also enjoy website design and logo design. I enjoy a lot of things actually! (o: Thanks for asking. You have a lot of great pieces on your blog– you’re very talented. ~Pattie

         
  4. Jenna

    January 1, 2012 at 10:39 PM

    I agree, Pattie. The quick, inpulsive feel of charcoal is very appealing, and the sense of warmth it has is wonderful, as you said. I like to do detailed work, and fortunately, charcoal can be great for that too. I was looking at your blog and really love your painted furniture, as well as your photography. Beautiful work! Thank you for the very kind words. It is much appreciated. 🙂

     
  5. Anyluckypeny

    January 3, 2012 at 4:07 PM

    This is incredible Jenna! The lighting from the window is so amazing!

     
    • Jenna

      January 3, 2012 at 6:28 PM

      Thank you so much, Anyluckypeny! I appreciate the kind comments. The white charcoal creates wonderful light…I used that for the brightness you see in the window. Thanks again. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
