RSS

Ball of Wire – er – Yarn

03 Jan

This was a Christmas gift that I made for a very good friend of mine.  I’ve not shown it here until now because I wanted to be sure she would be surprised when she got it.  It’s a ball of yarn with a pair of knitting needles stuck in it.  She is a big fan of knitting, weaving, and an array of other art forms of this nature, and she has amazing talent for it, too. 🙂

This is made using exactly five pieces of wire, one very long one for the ball of yarn, one for each knitting needle basic shape, and one for each needle’s shape, weight, and texture.  It was a lot of fun to make this for my friend, and she seems to like it.  🙂

It’s approximately 8 inches long, and three inches tall.  That’s a rough estimate…  All made from simple wire from a farm store.

Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

15 responses to “Ball of Wire – er – Yarn

  1. ziggyshortcrust

    January 3, 2012 at 3:49 PM

    What a fabulous gift for your friend. I love the spiral ends to the knitting needles.

     
    • Jenna

      January 3, 2012 at 6:25 PM

      Thank you so much. The spiral ends were the most fun to sculpt! Thanks for the comments. 🙂

       
  2. Anyluckypeny

    January 3, 2012 at 8:48 PM

    Very creative! I’m sure your friend will love it.!

    Yes I love movie scores! This one is one of my favorites, it’s from Revolutionary Road:
    “Main Title”

    This one is from the movie The Secret Garden:
    “First Time Outside”

    This one is from Meet Joe Black:
    “Whisper of a Thrill”

    One I start I can’t stop 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 4, 2012 at 9:37 PM

      Thank you so much, Anyluckypeny! Great selection of music you’ve shared. It’s all so tranquil and gentle, very nice to listen to . Thanks for sharing it with me. I especially liked the track from the Secret Garden. The story of the Secret Garden is just so wonderful anyway, and I really like this movie…though not as much as I liked the novel. 🙂

      My favorite composers are Hans Zimmer and James Horner…and of course, I have a lot of others I really like, as well. Zimmer is my favorite because of his exciting scores, his strong, rich sound, and his emotional pieces (“The Pacific” is just about my favorite by him). Here is a highlight from that soundtrack: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9IHsKgaMsg

      And this is one of the greatest tracks I ever heard. This is the one that turned my head and made me love soundtracks. It’s a Hans Zimmer score, and the movie, “Spirit Stallion of the Cimarron” is actually quite good as well. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yiPLqBUjCWY

      Like you, I could go on and on when it comes to the topic of soundtracks. Thanks for the comments, and I hope you enjoy the music. 🙂

       
  3. janukke

    January 4, 2012 at 7:31 AM

    Ha, do I like it?!? I LOVE this wonderful piece of art! 😀 Only you could´ve done something so sweet! It is a beautiful sculpture. And it is sitting on a board right next to my favourite knitting place, it sure keeps me inspired! 😀 Thank you so much, you really make me happy! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 4, 2012 at 9:39 PM

      Hi Jana! I’m so happy you like this sculpture so much and that you even draw some inspiration from it. It was a pure joy to make this for you. You are very welcome! 🙂

       
  4. KatiesCameraBlog

    January 4, 2012 at 9:27 AM

    Wow, Jenna. This is amazing. I LOVE this. You are just so talented. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 4, 2012 at 9:39 PM

      Thank you very much, Katie. It means so much. I appreciate it. 🙂

       
  5. Inspired and pretty

    January 4, 2012 at 1:15 PM

    This is amazing and beautiful ! It must have taken you hours to do this. Did you do it with only your hands or did you use other tools ? This is a special gift because a handmade gift from a friend is a labor of love and holds special meaning.

     
    • Jenna

      January 4, 2012 at 9:45 PM

      Thanks very much, Jocelyne! It actually took only about two hours. Wire is pretty easy to work with, and despite the small scratches it leaves in my fingers, I love every part of sculpting with wire. 🙂 I use mostly my hands, and sometimes a plier or a pair of pliers for better control over the wire. It’s very straightforward and simple, really, and I love creating three-dimmentional art sometimes. Thank you for the very kind comments. 🙂

       
  6. zorgor

    January 4, 2012 at 8:43 PM

    Wow, that is great! Really good idea! I love it!

     
    • Jenna

      January 4, 2012 at 9:46 PM

      Thank you so much, Zorgor! I’m glad you like it. 🙂

       
  7. Judy

    January 5, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    This is stunning! I love your photos of it too! What a great gift! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Jenna

      January 5, 2012 at 10:03 PM

      Thank you so much, Judy! I’m so glad you like this. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
