RSS

Meet Zeke

10 Jan

After having such a nice time painting the little town of Alma, I decided to paint some more.  Black and white painting is something that I think I could really get into.  I am still trying to think of a book cover idea.  In my search for reference material, I found a photo of a man who seemed to look very much like how I would picture my book character, Zeke.  If you’d like, you can get to know Zeke a little bit here in this old post.

Once again, I was using acrylics for this, and I’m still a little afraid of color.  Black and white media suits me for now.  This one took about 2 and a half hours to paint, and in that time, I couldn’t pry myself away from the canvas.  I don’t know that I’ve ever had fun with painting as I have with these most recent two.

Zeke Siegel

-8×10 inches in size

-Acrylic on canvas

Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2012 in All Artwork, Paintings, The Cozy Red Lounge

 

12 responses to “Meet Zeke

  1. janukke

    January 10, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    Wow, you´ve painted this in two and a half hours only?!? You are a genius, that´s a fact. It is a wonderful painting. I like Zekes intense look and slightly unkempt wild appearance. Great one!

    Ah, now I cannot get away from the screen. I just have to keep on looking. Gah!

     
    • Jenna

      January 10, 2012 at 9:43 PM

      Jana, I can always count on you to be generous with your comments. 😀 Yes, this took about 2 and a half hours…acrylics dry very fast, so I have to work fast to get the look I want with them. Thank you so much for your kind comments! I loved the unkempt look of the man in my reference image, and I’m so glad that came through here in my painting too. Thank you again. It is appreciated. 🙂

       
  2. KatiesCameraBlog

    January 10, 2012 at 2:23 PM

    You are so good, Jenna! I really like this. And I can see someone who draws (especially with your talent) would have an affinity for black and white painting. Good luck finding your cover. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 10, 2012 at 9:47 PM

      Thank you very much, Katie. You are very kind. Yes, for now, I’m a little shy about colors because the last several paintings I’ve tried (with colors, that is), have ended in frustration and disappointment. Black and white works well at the moment. Maybe in time, I’ll try out colors again. Thank you! 🙂

       
  3. Lenore Busch

    January 11, 2012 at 2:30 PM

    I really like this one Jen. I can just imagine Zeke as the main character in your book. He looks very fitting for the time period. Let me know when the book is ready as I really want to read it. Lenore

     
    • Jenna

      January 13, 2012 at 3:30 PM

      Thank you so much, Lenore! I’m glad he looks appropriate to the time period. It is from a modern photo reference, but the man’s face had a great expression and a timeless feel. I am glad to hear you’re still looking forward to reading my book. I’ll keep you posted. Thanks for the kind comments. 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    January 11, 2012 at 6:09 PM

    I am amazed by the details in your paintings, like the seams on his coat, his hair and eyes…

     
    • Jenna

      January 13, 2012 at 3:31 PM

      Thank you very much, Jocelyne! I really appreciate it. Details are something I strive for in my drawings…I guess it carried into my painting too. Thanks again.

       
  5. zorgor

    January 13, 2012 at 11:35 PM

    Awesome!

     
    • Jenna

      January 14, 2012 at 3:35 PM

      Thank you very much, Zorgor. 🙂

       
  6. Garden Walk Garden Talk

    February 13, 2013 at 5:41 PM

    Very nice!

     
    • Jenna

      February 13, 2013 at 7:58 PM

      Thanks very much, Donna! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
