RSS

Elkana

19 Jan

All my life I have been an animal lover, and I’ve had a lot of pets over the years.  At this time, aside from my cats inside and out, I don’t have as many pets as I used to.  I do, however, have a ball python.  Ever since I first saw a ball python at an animal show as a young kid, I dreamed of having one.  They are docile, solidly built, calm, and so very beautiful!  I always think they look a bit like a strange version of a leopard.  The colors, the spots, and patterns.  Of course, there are ball python morphs that come in every color and pattern imaginable that go for thousands of dollars.  Since I am but a lowly starving artist, I was thrilled with the original, affordable, classic color of ball python.  After all, looks aren’t everything!  Character traits and dispositions of the ball python don’t improve or change with their colors and patterns, so it doesn’t matter.  I didn’t want a ball python to show off and amaze people, I just wanted a companion, a gentle, quiet friend.  You wouldn’t think that a snake would have personality or be affectionate, but you might be surprised.

This is Elkana.  Once upon a time, he was a small little thing, hanging easily from my thumb like coils of rope.  The beauty about snakes is that they hold themselves.  You don’t generally have to be afraid of them falling, because they have quite a grip, and they know how to hang on.

And here we are, a few years later.  He’s nearly full grown now, and doing great.

I’ve always thought that his snout is kind of dog-like.  He always likes to get close and study my face.  He will come close enough that his tongue will flick my cheek.  He is quite outgoing and loves being out of his cage.

Unfortunately, photos can’t capture the depth of his eyes.  They are so dark and shiny they are like tiny mirrors.

For the sake of getting better photos of him, I stood before a mirror…and he was quite infatuated with himself.

I like the illusion of there being two snakes.  For being a slow-moving creature, he’s rather hard to photograph.

Thanks for looking.  Have a great weekend! 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Photography

 

6 responses to “Elkana

  1. KatiesCameraBlog

    January 19, 2012 at 4:33 PM

    I love this Jenna! Elkana is a special boy to be sure. I have this very unnatural and unrealistic fear of snakes when I first see them, but I know there is no reason to be that way. And I love hearing about how wonderful and calm Elkana is. And I’m so glad he’s in your life. Love the photos! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 21, 2012 at 10:20 AM

      Thanks, Katie! Yes he is. Your fear of snakes is understandable; everybody has something that makes them uneasy…for me it’s heights. Many snakes can be aggressive and will bite, but ball pythons are typically very mellow and gentle. The only time Elkana has tried to bite is when I’m feeding him and he mistakes my hand for lunch. He’s never connected though – for a snake, his striking aim is pretty bad! 😉 The defense for a ball python is to roll up into a tight ball and hide their heads rather than bite. That’s why they’re called a ball python…because of this instinct. I’m glad you like these photos, even if they are of a creature you don’t especially love. 😉 Thanks for the comments.

       
  2. janukke

    January 20, 2012 at 3:10 PM

    What a great snake and a perfect name too! 😀
    Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures!

    Cheers!

    Jana

     
    • Jenna

      January 21, 2012 at 10:21 AM

      Hi Jana!

      Thank you. I got the name idea from a novel I read a while ago…I wanted something unique, and this fits him. 🙂 I’m so glad you like the pictures. Thank you!

       
  3. Diane

    February 25, 2012 at 8:07 PM

    Jen Looking at your Christmas card again, I never knew you had a website—— Awesome art work and drawing and painting and pictures Diane and Bob

     
    • Jenna

      February 25, 2012 at 8:27 PM

      Well hello, Bob and Diane! What a nice surprise to have you come visit my blog. Thank you so much for the kind comments. I’m glad you like my work. Feel free to check back anytime. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
