RSS

The Dot-to-Dot Boxer is Back

21 Jan

Finally, the boxer is making a comeback.  Over Christmas and the New Year, I had to put my art supplies away to be sure that my little nephews and niece didn’t get into them.  Now my art stuff is sprawled around the living room again, and so I can work on this.  I’ve worked on this boxer for a couple of sittings and am finally nearing the finish.  After this is done, I am hoping to draw my Oliver in ink.  But that’s beside the point at the moment.  About the boxer…he is close to done…So close  I’ve worked in him since this latest update, so now the chain collar is nearly finished (that metal collar was nerve-wracking to draw, by the way!).  I’ve also put in a few more whiskers, so I’ll post what I hope will be the finish very soon. 🙂

Here are some close-ups to show the textures.  For Christmas, I got a wonderful tripod for my camera, and so I can take better, clearer photos of my artwork now.

He has kind of an old man chin, with all the whiskers and the stubble.  It was a lot of fun to try to get these textures down.  Although, working around those white whiskers in a negative drawing style tested my patience at times.

Thank you for looking!  🙂

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2012 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags:

14 responses to “The Dot-to-Dot Boxer is Back

  1. zorgor

    January 22, 2012 at 2:19 PM

    That is impressive. Doesn’t making all those little dots hurt your hand?? But wow, that is seriously impressive.

    This is one of the lesser reasons I like abstract and non-representational art — it is so much easier! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 23, 2012 at 7:13 PM

      Wow, thank you for the very generous comments, Zorgor! You made my day. Yes, my hand does cramp up sometimes when I do this; I stop a lot and stretch my hands and flex them this way and that 😉

      Oddly enough, I find abstract more difficult than realism. To each their own. 🙂 Thanks again!

       
      • zorgor

        January 23, 2012 at 10:10 PM

        You’ve mentioned that before yes, but I really can’t imagine why you feel that way. 🙂 I suppose in one sense, if you commit to painting/drawing/persistently dotting! what you see, that then you don’t have to ‘cook up’ subject matter… But with non-representational art especially, since it’s not really supposed to look like anything you can name, that makes it almost difficult to ‘mess up’… I find when I even approach realism, I get stressed out because that means there is a definite ‘right’ and ‘wrong’ way for it to be to look realistic, and that can be difficult to get right. But I’m much more out of practice than you are at that. 🙂

        But as you said, to each their own. What you’re doing is working really well for you and you’re very good at it!

         
  2. Mats

    January 23, 2012 at 6:28 AM

    Impressive! We used to have a boxer, the greatest dog of all 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 23, 2012 at 7:15 PM

      Thank you so much, Mats. It’s my dream to have a boxer someday. I once had a boxer/lab cross and he was a wonderful dog. How wonderful that you had the chance to have a boxer in your life. 🙂

       
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    January 23, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    Wow, Jenna! I’m watching over a litter of Boxer puppies and then 4 adult boxers and a cat, and well, it’s hard work, but not like this. 🙂 Really you are good. Can’t wait to see what you do with Oliver!

     
    • Jenna

      January 23, 2012 at 7:18 PM

      Katie, would you like to trade roles for a bit? You can draw, and I can watch your cat and all those boxers (and boxer puppies!) for you…what do you say? 😉 😀 I can imagine it’s a lot of work, but it must be great fun!

      Thank you for the kind comments. Just about done with this now. 🙂

       
  4. Jenna

    January 25, 2012 at 1:37 PM

    Zorgor, I think you nailed it. With realism, all I usually have to do is follow a reference image. With abstract, you have to use your imagination almost exclusively. It’s a very difficult thing, as I struggle to draw from imagination. Thank you for the very kind comments! I really appreciate it. 🙂

     
    • zorgor

      January 25, 2012 at 6:25 PM

      I’d recommend you definitely try painting as a container then! http://zorgor.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/painting-container/ The ‘rules’ tell you just enough of what to do that you don’t have to make any subject-matter decisions, at least I didn’t. But at the same it frees your creativity, I think because you’re not planning anything, you’re just smearing paint around and seeing what happens. And the color guidelines practically guarantee that it’ll look good whatever you do. And there are no wrong answers!! 😀 Except maybe going outside the lines, and you’ll have absolutely no problem with that! And we’ll absolutely let it slide if you do! 🙂 in fact I already have, just in case!

      I wasn’t kidding when I nearly waxed poetic about how liberating and fun the exercise was!

       
      • Jenna

        January 25, 2012 at 9:41 PM

        I do love what you did with the painting as a container, Zorgor! I’ll give some thought to trying it. I’m about to start in an oil painting class hosted by someone at my favorite art website, WetCanvas, so it might be a little busy for a while.

        Have you been to WetCanvas? It’s an excellent website with forums for just about every form of art you can imagine! 🙂 Check it out if you’re interested. http://www.wetcanvas.com/index.php

        Thanks again.

         
      • zorgor

        January 25, 2012 at 9:55 PM

        Wow that looks like a great resource. I’ll definitely have to check that out more! Thanks! 🙂

         
  5. Jenna

    January 25, 2012 at 10:14 PM

    Oh, it’s an incredible website! I’m there almost every day and have gone there almost every day since June of 2008 when I signed up. I’m actually a moderator there these days, so it’s near and dear to my heart. 🙂 Check it out, explore, savor! It’s such a good community full of wonderful, talented people.

     
  6. Anyluckypeny

    February 8, 2012 at 3:17 PM

    Wow! The detail in this is incredible 🙂 I love looking at your drawings!

     
    • Jenna

      February 8, 2012 at 4:33 PM

      Thank you so much, Anyluckypeny! That is high praise, and I am so glad you enjoy looking at my drawings. I appreciate it. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
