RSS

Meet Russ

26 Jan

After painting Zeke, I decided to try for another character portrait.  This one is Russ, who has been a part of my writing experience for quite some time.  If you’d like to “get to know him”, you can click here.  He is one of those characters who has sort of taken on his own life.  It was such a joy to paint him.  I had an old public domain photograph of a man who really reminded me of this character, so this was inspired by that photo, as well as my own ideas on Russ’ appearance.  I didn’t used to imagine him with a bowler hat, but this just fit in the end.  Russ also claims to have somehow ended up with President Lincoln’s hat.  He does like to tell tall tales. 😉  I imagine he may have a whole collection of hats.  As you can see, once again, I have chickened out when it comes to painting in color, but soon, I hope to ease back into the world of color in painting.  For this particular painting, I liked the idea of it being in black and white.  Classic, right? 😉  This took around 8 – 10 hours to complete.

Russ

-Acrylic on canvas board

-11×14 inches in size.

Here’s a close up.

Thanks for looking.  I hope you like it.  Have a great day! 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2012 in All Artwork, Paintings, The Cozy Red Lounge

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Meet Russ

  1. plaidoak

    January 26, 2012 at 4:22 PM

    Howdy Russ! Nice hat. (o:

     
    • Jenna

      January 28, 2012 at 1:53 PM

      This comment made me smile, Plaidoak. Thank you. Russ would be so pleased that you like his hat. 😀

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    January 27, 2012 at 8:22 AM

    Another beautiful painting with plenty of details. The hat fits him perfectly, and it’s of his time (I’m not sure if time is the right word…but I think you will understand. I’m not perfectly bilingual…) I just imagine how your drawings and paintings must be breathtaking in person for they are amazing here in photos. Black and white is also beautiful, it gives another perspective and a depth to the subject. But when you’re ready with color I will be delighted to look at your wonderful paintings and I’m sure they will be as beautiful as black and white’s.

     
    • Jenna

      January 28, 2012 at 1:58 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m glad the hat fits him now. The hat was the hardest part of this painting. It went from being too big to being crooked to being just ugly. I’m so relieved that my efforts to make it better have paid off. Your English is very fine. I know just what you mean.

      Your very kind comments always make my day. Thank you very, very much! 🙂 As soon as a certain color of oil paint arrives, I will be taking a class to learn a thing or two about painting in color. Should be a lot of fun! 🙂

       
  3. zorgor

    January 27, 2012 at 6:48 PM

    Impressive as usual, both in detail and in speed of execution. You have such a great command of shading, honestly I don’t see why working in color would present you with any challenges. But I agree that black and white is appropriate for this. Your book is going to have a whole section of portraits and illustrations in the middle, isn’t it? 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 28, 2012 at 2:01 PM

      Zorgor, you are very kind. Thank you. I hope you’re right in the world of color working out for me, as I’ll be taking a class soon. Mostly, I’ve been painting in black and white recently just so I can get a feel for a paintbrush in my hand again. I have gotten so used to pens and pencils that it’s a little different, but a lot of fun.

      Haha! My book may just have that. 😀 You made me laugh. Thanks for the comments.

       
  4. janukke

    January 29, 2012 at 6:26 AM

    Wow, that is a wonderful portrait! You so very talented, it amazes me time and time again! 🙂 I especially like Russ´ mouth, the expression is perfect! :o)
    It is fun to read about your art here, I am very glad you started this blog.

     
    • Jenna

      January 29, 2012 at 6:19 PM

      Thank you for the generous comments, Jana! It means so much. 🙂 In the reference image I used, the man was squinting in the sun, but I tried to change his expression – especially the mouth – to a bit of a sly smile. Thank you again. So happy you like my blog! 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
