RSS

An Ant’s Eye View

28 Jan

Do you ever walk outside, camera in hand, and try to see things in a new way?  It is something I ought to do more often, as it usually ends up being one of the most enjoyable things I do that day.  Here in late January, things can sometimes look rather bleak and cold as everything is hibernating or dormant for a while.  So as I wondered what to post today, I came across these photos of mushrooms I took some time ago.  It resulted in a lot of putting the camera directly on the ground and snapping photos without actually seeing the subject in the viewfinder.  This, of course, resulted in many odd and out of focus photos, but it also resulted in a few good ones.  I am amazed at the textures and details hidden underneath those smooth tops.

Looking at these photos later, I was thinking about a favorite childhood movie, “Honey, I Shrunk the Kids”. 🙂

All of these were taken in my front yard and vary in size from a pea to the size of a quarter.  The last two brilliant yellow ones are near Lake Superior and were almost the size of a baseball.  They were breathtaking…for a fungi. 😉

Hope you like them.  Thanks for looking.

…As an afterthought, I decided to stick these in, too.  These mushrooms (probably what I think of as toadstools) were big, almost as big as my foot.

Aren’t those ridges underneath interesting? 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2012 in Photography

 

12 responses to “An Ant’s Eye View

  1. zorgor

    January 28, 2012 at 9:34 PM

    Ok, “near Lake Superior”… Where “near Lake Superior”? Are you “near Lake Superior”? 🙂

    My mom grew up near Two Harbors, my grandmother lived there, and so I spent many a summer there. Of course I don’t need to tell you what an incredibly beautiful and green area it is! Are you anywhere around there?

    And great photos! Yeah, mushrooms really are interesting! Great shots! That’s a great idea — seeking out new ways to look at things. I need to try that.

     
    • Jenna

      January 28, 2012 at 9:57 PM

      Well, Zorgor, I live roughly three hours away from Lake Superior, but it is definitely a favorite vacation spot of mine. The photos posted here were taken along the North Shore; we saw some amazing scenery there, and even Split Rock Light House, which is very pretty. My home away from home is most certainly Duluth, MN. Have you been to Duluth? It’s so great! The water, the big ships coming through, and the amazing shopping, not to mention the outstanding art galleries…it doesn’t get much better than that! Two Harbors, I’ve been in the area before. I’ve been as far north as Lutsen and Tofte. In just the last couple of years, I braved my fear of heights and took the gondola to the top of Moose Mountain. Now that was beautiful!

      What a small world! 🙂 Those lakes are breathtaking, aren’t they? There is something so soothing about them. Not only is the surrounding area stunning (and green, as you said), but I could watch those gentle waters for hours. If you’d like to get an idea…a small idea…of some of the areas that I’ve seen, check out this post I made some time ago. https://thecozyred.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/outdoor-drawing/ It’s a very small sample of what I’ve seen. This was by Tofte and Lutsen.

      Thank you for the kind comments. I’m so glad you like these little mushrooms. (Mushrooms? I was starting to think this post was based on the Great Lakes. 😉 )

       
      • zorgor

        January 29, 2012 at 9:18 PM

        I’m wearing my Split Rock Lighthouse t-shirt right now! 🙂 Yes, I liked Duluth a lot, though pretty much all I remember now was the ore boat you could tour and the viking ship! Sounds like you’ve seen more of the North Shore that I have. About the furthest north, or east, we ever went was Silver Bay. I really liked Gooseberry Falls though, just a little south-west of Split Rock. I’d like to visit it again someday. Soothing, gentle waters is a great description, but then I’ve never seen it in a storm. Certainly wasn’t soothing and gentle for the Edmund Fitzgerald! 🙂

        Mushrooms? What mushr — oh yeah, mushrooms!

         
      • june

        December 20, 2012 at 12:36 PM

        Duluth is a wonderful place. One of my favs!

         
      • Jenna

        December 21, 2012 at 4:25 PM

        Isn’t Duluth just amazing? It is so cheerful and serene and beautiful. I could watch that water all day long. 🙂

         
  2. janukke

    January 29, 2012 at 6:19 AM

    Great perspecive! Funnily it brings up some childhood memories for me too. 😉 Thanks for sharing! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 29, 2012 at 6:09 PM

      Really, they do? How cool! I hope they are good childhood memories. 🙂 I’m glad you like the photos!

       
  3. Jenna

    January 30, 2012 at 3:21 PM

    That is too funny, Zorgor! I didn’t get a t-shirt while there…just took a bunch of photos. I enjoyed the old houses. I hope you get the chance to visit Duluth again. It’s a wonderful place.

    And Gooseberry Falls…I’ve been there a number of times now. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again…Small world! 🙂 The last time I went, the water was very low, so you could walk out onto much of the riverbed. It was beautiful in its own way though.

    I would love to see a Great Lakes storm. It’s always been very mild when I go. Whitecaps don’t even show too often. I’d love to see the big waves sometime. They say fall is a good time to see the wild waters. Maybe I’ll try for that next time.

     
  4. Inspired and pretty

    January 31, 2012 at 1:30 PM

    Fungi is a strange world ! Your photos turned very well, regarding the fact that you couldn’t even see what you were shooting ! The bright yellow fungi is amazing. I am always surprised to see all the details underneath mushrooms.

     
    • Jenna

      February 1, 2012 at 8:36 PM

      Yes, isn’t it? They are mysterious and somehow a bit unsettling as I don’t know which ones are poisonous or not. Thank you. I’m so glad you like the photos. Those yellow ones were breathtaking. I was so happy to have a camera along that day. Thanks again. 🙂

       
  5. Anyluckypeny

    February 6, 2012 at 11:59 PM

    I love the yellow mushroom! So interesting I never saw mushrooms that close in pictures before 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2012 at 12:16 PM

      Thank you for the kind comments, Anyluckypeny! Mushrooms are so strange. These yellow ones were gorgeous! They dotted the hiking trails as I walked along. The two pictured were among the most beautiful of them, I thought. If I hadn’t been walking with a group (my whole family was vacationing together), I probably would have stopped to take more pictures. But alas, I didn’t want to fall too terribly far behind. I was already dragging them down with my obsession with taking photos. 😉 Thanks again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
