RSS

Anyone Else Missing the Summer Greens?

05 Feb

It has been an exceptionally mild winter this year, but even so, I am starting to miss the smell of fresh-cut grass, the shade of big, green, bushy trees, and the sight of flowers blooming here and there.  This sort of description could bring forth hundreds of my photos, as landscapes, flowers, and other plant life are among my favorite subjects to photograph.  Instead, though, I’d like to post some shots I took while out in South Dakota last summer.  There are a number of large rock formations in this set of photos, too.  I took some over 1,000 photos while out there, so this is just a small, small sampling.  The land out there was truly too beautiful for words, so without further adieu…

I hope you like them!  Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Anyone Else Missing the Summer Greens?

  1. janukke

    February 5, 2012 at 12:24 PM

    Ha, until I read your blog, I was actually enjoying the very first winterly cold days of this year. 😉 But now that you mention green, yes, I do miss it too! 🙂 I like the change of seasons and I think I am ready for some fresh greens!

    Great pictures! :o)

    Cheers!
    Jana

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2012 at 12:20 PM

      Haha, by all means, Jana…enjoy these cold, wintery days! There are quite a few left to enjoy. 🙂 The changing of seasons is an amazing thing, and it truly is a miracle in our lives, don’t you think? Thanks for the kind comments.

       
  2. Pattie

    February 5, 2012 at 2:21 PM

    Yes– I’m really looking forward to Spring!

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2012 at 12:20 PM

      Me too, Pattie. 🙂 Thanks for the comments.

       
  3. zorgor

    February 5, 2012 at 2:58 PM

    Nice photos of a very interesting place — thanks for sharing!

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2012 at 12:21 PM

      Thanks, Zorgor! It is a breathtaking landscape out there. I loved it.

       
  4. Anyluckypeny

    February 6, 2012 at 11:58 PM

    Nice pictures! It reminds me of Yosemite when I hiked some trails!

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2012 at 12:23 PM

      Thanks, Anyluckypeny! I’ve never been to Yosemite, but I’ve heard it’s amazing. I love hiking trails. The woodsey scents and the breathtaking sights are incredible. Thanks for the comments. 🙂

       
  5. Inspired and pretty

    February 7, 2012 at 8:33 PM

    Those are beautiful pictures Jenna, I love them ! I have to say that I started a fascination over rocks just last summer. Before that I would have walked by those big rocks and found them nice, but now it’s as if I see rocks with new eyes. This fascination began when I was kayaking on a river and I saw these amazing white quartz rocks on the shores of the river. I was stunned, they were so beautiful ! I had to load my kayak with these rocks and I kept asking my boyfriend if he was sure I wasn’t going to overturn 🙂
    So when I saw your photos I instantly found them so beautiful ! They are giant rocks ! They have all those cracks and one of them is having stairs ! My favorite ones are the 4th, the 7th and the last one.
    Now imagine if I was going to the Grand Canyon or Yosemite park. I think I would faint 🙂
    Oh ! and I don’t miss spring yet, I hope we’re going to have another month and a half of snow and cold !

     
    • Jenna

      February 8, 2012 at 4:59 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne. 🙂 Rocks are something I have long had a fascination with. I remember being sent to get the mail when I was a little kid, and the simple task would take me an hour or more because I was constantly stopping to pick up pebbles and rocks from the driveway to keep. I know very little about rocks as far as what kinds there are, but I do find them beautiful. 🙂 I’m so glad you appreciate them, too. Yes, these rocks were at the base of Mount Rushmore, so they were very huge! And they were shot through with many colors and textures. It was really quite a sight. 🙂 I’m so happy you like the photos. Thank you so much!

      Enjoy the winter! I’ll try to do the same. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
