RSS

Gift Horse (Er…Drawing)

08 Feb

Last November, the Southwestern/Western Art Forum from WetCanvas held an Art Swap, where pairs of names are drawn and each person must complete a work of art to trade with their partner in the swap.  It was the first time I had taken part in this, and I had a lot of fun with it!  This is what I drew to send to my partner.  In return, I got a very beautiful southwestern landscape painted in oils. 🙂

I knew time would be short for this swap project, so I chose to draw with my quickest medium, charcoal.  Ink or graphite would have been too slow, and paint, while fast, still isn’t in my comfort zone.  I’d been longing to draw with charcoal anyway.

“Gift Horse” (I just chose this title now.)

-8×10 inches in size.

-Charcoal on watercolor paper.  The golden colors of the paint on the horse’s face are drawn with tinted charcoal.

Hope you like it.  Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in All Artwork, Charcoal Drawings

 

10 responses to “Gift Horse (Er…Drawing)

  1. Inspired and pretty

    February 9, 2012 at 7:25 AM

    Jenna….you amaze me ! Do you know how talented you are ? I assure you, your art could stand on the walls of the most prestigious museum of the world. I was at the Metropolitain Museum Of Art in New-york last summer and this drawing is as much beautiful as some paintings I have seen there. When I see amazing and very beautiful art, it gives me goosebumps.and your drawing had that effect on me. When I was at the MET I was there for only 3 hours and had goosebumps all the way ! Furthermore, I was in New-York for 4 days and had goosebumps for 4 days just because I was there !
    Have a very nice day !

     
    • Jenna

      February 10, 2012 at 12:10 PM

      Jocelyne, wow! You are very kind and generous. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. 🙂 How I love going to art galleries and museums! It’s been too long since I’ve gone to one…maybe I’ll have to do it again this summer sometime.

      I’m so happy that this drawing has given you goosebumps. It means so much to hear things like that. I thank you again. 🙂

      Have a great day, yourself.

       
  2. janukke

    February 9, 2012 at 10:44 AM

    This is impressive! I love the dramatic blacks and whites!

     
    • Jenna

      February 10, 2012 at 12:11 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! I’m glad you like this. One of the greatest things about charcoal is the very bold, deep blacks you can get from them. They have excellent contrast potential. 🙂 Thanks again!

       
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    February 10, 2012 at 10:41 AM

    Wow, to receive that in a swap would be wonderful, Jenna. Great work!

     
    • Jenna

      February 10, 2012 at 12:12 PM

      Thank you, Katie! I’m so happy you like it. I appreciate the kind words. 🙂

       
  4. zorgor

    April 12, 2012 at 8:50 PM

    Very impressive! I almost hate to imagine how insanely quickly you probably created this masterpiece… That is a really incredible horse!

    I like the idea of an art swap…

     
    • Jenna

      April 12, 2012 at 10:24 PM

      You are very kind, Zorgor. Charcoal goes fast because, let’s face it, it’s messy and bold and gets on everything. You have to work fast, or it seems to practically smear itself! I spent, oh, maybe 10, 12 hours on this total. That is just a guess of course. It wasn’t terribly fast, but it was compared to how slow ink or graphite work for me, I suppose.

      Thank you so much for the very nice comments!

      Art swaps are a lot of fun! I really enjoyed it, and would like to do it again. It’s such a nice way to share with your fellow artists. 🙂

       
  5. willowandthetatertots

    June 9, 2013 at 12:13 AM

    WOW! Oh, would I love that!

     
    • Jenna

      June 9, 2013 at 12:22 PM

      Thanks for the kind comments, willowandthetatertots! I do offer pet portraits, so if you’d like something like this done, feel free to email me. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
