RSS

Simon on the Deck

11 Feb

Simon is a beagle, a spoiled, self-centered, attention-seeking, wonderful, beautiful beagle.  He was a birthday gift to my dad several years ago from all of us, and I do believe it was probably the best gift we’ve gotten him to date.  They have a special bond, Dad and Simon (or as Dad calls him, Amscram-the-Beagle, or Amscrammy), and they have fun rough-housing and teasing each other.  It is always fun to see them playing. 🙂

Simon’s favorite place to hang out, especially in the summer, is on the deck.  Since he spends so much of his time there, I’ve ended up with quite a collection of photos of him sprawled on the wood.  Thought I would share some of these today.

The usual sight of the day…Simon resting his chin on the railing, making sure he isn’t missing out on anything around home.

Sometimes, he has to share “his” space with some friends.  After all, cats love the deck, too.

Despite his sad, tragic face, he is really quite happy.

He is not as innocent as he appears here.  That orange dog toy belongs to our neighbor’s little dog, and Simon stole it and presented his trophy on the deck proudly.  He wasn’t quite thoughtful enough to return it to its rightful owner…so that was the humans’ job. 🙂

Why, isn’t he a rascal?

A big, lazy-day yawn.  Simon tends to whine or whistle when he yawns, just so everyone knows how hard he works.

Not to worry, he is not stuck or in pain in the photo below.  I was about to take his picture, and just like that he yawned.  It made for a great little photo, and it’s become one of my favorites of him.

How he loves to use the deck railing to his convenience.  So comfortable. 🙂

While this is a little blurred, I couldn’t resist sharing.  He loves to roll on his back.

A dog with a big heart, I thought this was a fitting composition.

This one is probably my favorite photo of Simon.  It was a mild fall day, as you can see by the leaves, and he looked so very happy to nap there.  He almost looks like he is having a nice dream, doesn’t he?

Then, on those chilly, wintry days, he sits by the door and waits to be let into the warm, dry house.  He loves the house when the weather isn’t agreeable.  Notice how he looks extra sad and pitiful?  He’s hoping…really hoping, to get let into the house.  (He got his way. 🙂 )

Another favorite place of his?  In his cushion, which is really just part of an old recliner that we gave him.  It’s his favorite warm place to sleep year-around…aside from inside the house that is.

So, that’s a small portion of Simon’s life.  He has a very active life, despite these photos, and spends much of each night howling and chasing scent trails in his true beagle way.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the photos.  Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Simon on the Deck

  1. janukke

    February 11, 2012 at 9:31 PM

    Oh, he´s adorable! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 11, 2012 at 9:41 PM

      Thanks for the comment, Jana. He is an adorable dog. It’s nice to have him around. 🙂

       
  2. zorgor

    February 12, 2012 at 7:46 PM

    Beagles are… awesome. Masters of relaxitude. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 12, 2012 at 8:40 PM

      Haha, I love that – relaxitude. 🙂 And you are right. Simon is a very big fan of naps. Of course, when he is awake, he is a bundle of ear-flopping energy! Thanks for the comments.

       
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    February 13, 2012 at 8:51 AM

    What adorable image, Jenna. Simon is so cute! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 13, 2012 at 10:56 AM

      Thank you so much, Katie. I’m glad you like the photos. 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    February 14, 2012 at 9:52 PM

    That is so funny, I loved this post, it made me smile and laugh ! What a cute Simon he is ! I love the photos of him resting his chin on the railing, my Winny does exactly the same thing. It’s so funny to see how he use the railing to rest his paw. You made me laugh when you said he whine or whistle when he yawns so that everybody knows how hard he works, I could almost hear him, I know exactly the sound ! Oh ! and the toy he stole, soooo funnny ! I really enjoyed this post and the photos are beautiful !

    p.s. Have you seen this video on YouTube ? It’s so funny ! I’m sure it will make you laugh. It’s called the “Ultimate Dog Tease”

     
    • Jenna

      February 15, 2012 at 8:49 PM

      Thank you so much for the kind words, Jocelyne! I’m so happy this post made you smile and laugh. That’s what I was hoping for. Simon is always good for a laugh. It sounds like you have a lot of memories with your Winny, too. 🙂 I have a funny video of Simon that I’d love to post on my blog, but I can’t seem to figure out how…

      Speaking of videos, this one is so funny! I just love it! Thanks for sharing. I definitely got a good laugh from it.

      Thanks again for the kind comments.

       
  5. Judy

    March 4, 2012 at 12:09 PM

    What an adorable dog, Jenna! Beagles are so cute anyway, but Simon is special! It’s sad how hard it is to get him to RELAX! lol He is the true example of “it’s a dog’s life”! I adore the back leg on the railing, and his chin, his paw too. What riot! And the stolen toy! 😉 Thanks for sharing such a sweet dog story.

     
    • Jenna

      March 4, 2012 at 3:20 PM

      Thanks, Judy! He is pretty adorable, and would love to be thought of as special. 🙂 He certainly is to me. Oh yes, he loves to use the deck railing to every possible convenience. He’s a real character. 🙂 I’m so glad you like the photos and the post.

       

Leave a Reply

 
