RSS

Twice the Sunsets, Half the Time

20 Feb

There was a gorgeous sunset the other night, it was one of those that made me snap photos almost constantly, because it just kept getting better and better.  And then, suddenly, my camera displayed the dreaded “Memory Full!” sign.  My SD card had filled up and I did not have a new one.  I kept backing up on my SD card’s memory and deleting any photos that I felt I wouldn’t miss so I could continue capturing this particular sunset.

At one point, I turned around and noticed that the sunset was shimmering beautifully in a window, and I liked the idea so much that I took a lot of pictures of this window rather than the sunset itself.  I liked the way the sunset looked like it was doubled.  Isn’t it kind of neat?

For the fun of it, below is a photo of the actual sunset.

Here’s another window shot.  I was enjoying this new look at the sunset…it’s like getting two sunsets at once. 🙂

Here are a few more shots of the glorious sunset.

As you can see, I had company while enjoying this sunset.  One of my cats, Callie, was savoring the moment as much as I was. 🙂

Thank you for looking! 🙂

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Twice the Sunsets, Half the Time

  1. Barbra & Jack Donachy

    February 21, 2012 at 12:21 AM

    These are terrific sunset shots. I never get tired of beautiful sunsets.
    Greetings from north of the Arctic Circle.

     
    • Jenna

      February 24, 2012 at 1:56 PM

      Thank you so much, Barbra and Jack! I really appreciate the kind comments. I never get tired of sunsets, either. Each one seems special. 🙂

       
  2. janukke

    February 21, 2012 at 3:00 AM

    Oh wow, I love the double sunset! :o) And your and the cat´s shadows on the wall, how amazing is that shot?
    Wow.

    Cheers!
    Jana

     
    • Jenna

      February 21, 2012 at 11:44 AM

      Thank you so much, Jana! I’m so happy you like these photos. 🙂 Callie is a pretty photogenic cat, and even her shadow photographs well. Thanks again!

       
  3. KatiesCameraBlog

    February 21, 2012 at 9:04 AM

    Gorgeous images, Jenna. Love them! And the shadow of the cat on the wall. Perfect. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 21, 2012 at 11:45 AM

      Thank you very much, Katie! I’m so glad you like my photos. 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    February 21, 2012 at 3:36 PM

    So so so so soooooo beautiful ! Wow…I loved those photos !

     
    • Jenna

      February 21, 2012 at 7:21 PM

      Thank you very, very much, Jocelyne! Very kind words. I appreciate it so much! 🙂

       
  5. zorgor

    February 21, 2012 at 4:13 PM

    That is really cool! The double image in the window makes it look otherworldly. Very cool! Nice cat shadow picture too! This is the second time in a week that I’ve read the advice ‘when you’re photographing, or just looking at, a sunset, turn around.’ The other post I read that on captured some beautiful pink clouds opposite the setting sun.

    Grr, I hate it when the card is full. My problem is getting the cards un-full. So many photos…. The card I’m currently using it mainly occupied by a vacation I took… wow 4 or 5 years ago. Good thing these cards aren’t too expensive…

     
    • Jenna

      February 21, 2012 at 7:32 PM

      Thank you, Zorgor! I had the same thought about that doubled image seeming otherworldly. The cat is quite natural at posing, you can see. 🙂 She’s a real diva.

      Really? That’s interesting. I’ll have to make sure and look away from the sunset more often. I’m guessing you’re doing the same after reading it twice?

      Wow, you are much better at conserving these things than I am. I never erase much from my SD cards (except for obvious bad shots). I have about 8 SD cards stocked up now. I continue to keep them because otherwise, I might lose my photos on the computer or something like that.

      Thanks for your kind comments. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        February 21, 2012 at 9:53 PM

        Yes I’m definitely going to look the other way from a sunset now. I did that once before and got some good shots but didn’t make the connection.

        Eh, I don’t know where they’re safer — on the card or on the computer… The problem is having them in only one place. See, I built a cumbersome process for myself, that keeps me from doing it:

        Picture Process:
        – Find the timestamps and date all pictures
        – Delete blurry, ugly, or bad pictures
        – Name descriptively
        – pictures unique or different in some way
        – especially cute pictures
        – pictures with someone
        – Add favorites to FavoritePhotos.txt and screen saver
        – Backup on CD

        I really need to streamline that…

         
  6. Jenna

    February 21, 2012 at 11:15 PM

    It should be fun, taking photos with the sun to our backs. 🙂

    I don’t know where photos are the safest, either. Thus, I keep them in the two different places. I haven’t thought about keeping them on CDs. Haha, I like your picture process! I don’t do anything so, ah, scientific. 😉 For me: snap photo, delete if bad, load into computer, and forget about it until a later date.

     
    • zorgor

      February 22, 2012 at 8:10 PM

      Right, forgetting about them, but for me the ‘later date’ never comes. 🙂 Which is why I want them to pop up in my screen saver from time to time. Oh well, at this point I have lots of photos to ‘rediscover’…

       
      • Jenna

        February 22, 2012 at 9:11 PM

        The slide show screen saver is great! The only problem is that you see some great, forgotten photo slide by, and have to search through the files for ages to track it down again. Ah, the computer age… 😉 It is fun to see them shuffled and randomly placed in the screen saver though. Every photo is a surprise. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
