RSS

Been Oil Painting

24 Feb

It’s been years since I’ve oil painted, and I can tell because most of my paint tubes are stuck shut from dry paint that I neglected to clean off when it was fresh.

Anyway, I’ve been taking part in a class online and have taken up some oil painting again.  It’s been a lot of fun and extremely educational.  My teacher instructed to first to a monochromatic painting.  He gave us three colors to work with: Indian Yellow, Alizarin Crimson, and Ultramarine Blue.  He said to make a purplish-gray color and use that for this monochromatic painting, using turpentine to thin the paint where needed for the light areas.  He gave us a photo reference of an apple and a pear to work from.  So this is what I came up with.  It’s 8×10 inches in size.

And he suggested that, in addition to these three colors, we should add white and see how many colors we can mix with these just to see for ourselves.  I was impressed!  Here is my collection of color swatches mixed from these basic colors.

And then, the teacher said to go ahead and paint a color version of this same apple and pear on the napkin.   He really helped me to pay attention to all of the subtle color changes in the photo.  For example, the red of the apple reflected onto the pear, and the cool blue reflected on the apple and the napkin on the right side from a blue panel on that side of the photo.  Here is my painting.  It is also 8×10 inches in size.

Next, we have to set up our own still life and work from real life.  I hope to take that on soon.  Just wanted to share what I’ve been doing in the meantime.

Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in All Artwork, Paintings

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Been Oil Painting

  1. zorgor

    February 24, 2012 at 9:06 PM

    Those are awesome!! Great work!

     
  2. zorgor

    February 24, 2012 at 9:07 PM

    Still thinking of doing a container? 😀

     
    • Jenna

      February 25, 2012 at 6:46 PM

      Thanks so much, Zorgor! Yep, I’m still thinking about trying that…but of course, thinking gets me nowhere. It’s on my To-Do list. 🙂

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    February 26, 2012 at 9:35 PM

    What ? You did ALL these colours with just three colours + white ? Ah ! I’m impressed ! Of course I don’t know much about colours but I would never have guessed that you can create all these colours with only three basic colours. Your painting is beautiful, good work Jenna !
    In previous posts you said you weren’t ready to work with colours, how did it feel to work with them ?
    I love this painting, it like it’s simplicity. I also like all the shadows and, like you said, the subtle colour changes, and I really like the mixing of the colours in the background.
    I love still life, I’m working on still life “theme” photos right now.

     
    • Jenna

      February 27, 2012 at 4:12 PM

      Yes, I was surprised and pleased at the wide range of color that the three colors plus white can provide. It’s been such a great learning experience. The reason that the teacher suggested these three specific colors is because they are all transparent, and thus, mix and mingle well.

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you like the paintings.

      Well…the colors were somewhat intimidating, but I enjoyed the color more than I imagined I would. I had some good music playing in the background, which helped to keep me in a good place so I wouldn’t get frustrated. 😉 My teacher has been so good to encourage us to study the colors and just mix paint and push it around…his guideance has been invaluable.

      Thanks so much for the very kind comments! I always appreciate it. 🙂 I look forward to seeing your theme photos! You always take such nice photos.

       
  4. KatiesCameraBlog

    February 27, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    Wow, Jenna, you are so good. 🙂 Have fun with this (and I need to check on those old oil paints I have too 🙂 ).

     
    • Jenna

      February 27, 2012 at 4:13 PM

      Thank you so much, Katie. You’re very kind. 🙂 I am having fun with the paints. I’d love to see your oil paintings. Did you paint much with them at some point? You should take it up again.

       
  5. Pattie

    February 27, 2012 at 5:11 PM

    Excellent paintings! I’m impressed. (o:

     
    • Jenna

      February 27, 2012 at 8:03 PM

      Thank you so much, Pattie. I really appreciate it. 🙂

       
  6. Judy

    March 4, 2012 at 11:58 AM

    wow…what stunning work! I love the difference between the monochromatic painting and the full color one. What a great learning experience to do the mono first! I’m also impressed with your range of colors! I love to mix but I don’t think mine would match yours! 😉 Once again, Jenna, superb work!

     
    • Jenna

      March 4, 2012 at 3:14 PM

      Thank you so much, Judy! Yes, the monochromatic painting was a good way for us to learn to understand the values. Thanks! It was fun to just mix colors. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
