RSS

The Boxer is Done

01 Mar

Finally, I can call this boxer finished.  It was a long journey…I’ve been working on this fellow since October, so it definitely felt good to sign it and spray it with fixative.  There’s such a simple joy in cutting the drawing from the tablet of paper and framing it or putting it safely into my portfolio.  Whew, I can relax!  The boxer is all done now. 🙂

I pushed the darks throughout the drawing, finished up his chain collar, and added the whiskers.  The whiskers were really fun, but a bit scary…no room for mistakes out there on the white of the paper!  And then, finally, I erased all of the faint lines of graphite that I used for the original sketch.  This dog is now 100% ink. 🙂

Boxer

-8×10 inches in size.

-Drawn on Strathmore 400 series Bristol Smooth paper.

-Drawn with Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens (sizes Super Fine, Fine, and Medium), and Staedtler Pigment Liner (0.1 mm in size).

If interested in a print of this drawing, feel free to email me at indee.artist.jen88@hotmail.com.

Thanks for looking.  Happy March! 🙂

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2012 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags:

22 responses to “The Boxer is Done

  1. janukke

    March 1, 2012 at 12:59 PM

    Jenna, this is wonderful! The boxer turned out great. It sure was worth all your effort. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      March 1, 2012 at 4:04 PM

      Hi Jana,

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you like this. 🙂

       
  2. KatiesCameraBlog

    March 1, 2012 at 4:54 PM

    I love it too! All your hard work paid off, Jenna! Great Boxer!!!! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      March 1, 2012 at 9:12 PM

      Thanks so much, Katie! I’m so glad you like it. Be sure and give Sprigg a pat for me. 🙂

       
      • KatiesCameraBlog

        March 1, 2012 at 9:14 PM

        I will give Sprigg a pat for you! Thank you! Love the Boxer! 🙂

         
  3. Jenna

    March 1, 2012 at 9:15 PM

    Thanks, Katie. I really appreciate it!

     
  4. Anna Connelly

    March 3, 2012 at 11:10 AM

    This is great Jenna! Nice work! Congratulations on finishing it!

     
    • Jenna

      March 3, 2012 at 7:47 PM

      Thank you so much, Anna! I appreciate the kind comments. 🙂

       
  5. Judy

    March 4, 2012 at 11:37 AM

    This is gorgeous, Jenna. I play around with pencils, pens and charcoal. But I’m still doing “stick dogs”. 😉 I truly admire your talent and can appreciate the amount of time you have devoted to it.

     
    • Jenna

      March 4, 2012 at 3:11 PM

      Thank you so much, Judy! I’d love to see some of your drawings. I appreciate the kind comments. 🙂

       
  6. zorgor

    March 4, 2012 at 11:18 PM

    Wha?? I thought this was done last time you posted about it! I thought that was done back then! I’m even more impressed now!

     
    • Jenna

      March 5, 2012 at 9:33 AM

      Thank you, Zorgor. It was very close to done, but still needed some more darks, and the collar was unfinished, and I just couldn’t rest until this fellow had some nice whiskers. A dog needs his whiskers, after all. 🙂 You’re very kind. Thanks again!

       
      • zorgor

        March 5, 2012 at 2:34 PM

        I mean, in addition to the amazing realism and perfect capture of the dog and his dogitude, I am really even more blown away by your persistence

         
  7. Inspired and pretty

    March 5, 2012 at 5:45 PM

    This is absolutely beautiful ! Wow, wow and re-wow ! There must be thousands of little black dots (I can’t find a better word…I wish I was better with english) in this drawing. He looks so real, it feels as if he’s really alive ! Your talent takes my breath away, really !
    I learned a new word today, I didn’t know what whiskers was and had to google it !
    Oh ! how I would love to look at your portfolio and see all the wonderful drawings you made ! Thank you for sharing them Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      March 5, 2012 at 6:21 PM

      Jocelyne, thanks so much! I must say Wow to your wonderful comments! “Dots” is just fine when describing this style. The technical term for this style is stippling, and all it is, essentially, is a bunch of dots. A lot of people call my work like this a “dot drawing” or “dot art”. Your calling them dots is right on! 🙂 Some people have also described it as being all “pinpoints”. 🙂

      I’m so happy that this fellow looks lifelike. Realism is what I like to strive for.

      I’d be honored to show you my portfolio! Thank you for the kind comments, for coming to my blog and viewing my work, and for taking the time to comment. It is deeply appreciated. 🙂

       
  8. Inspired and pretty

    March 5, 2012 at 5:50 PM

    Before I go, I’m having another look. It’s my third view… I just can’t leave… 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      March 5, 2012 at 6:22 PM

      I’m so thrilled that you like this drawing so much! Thank you, thank you! 🙂

       
      • janukke

        March 6, 2012 at 12:31 AM

        She´s not the only one, you know?!? 😛

         
  9. Jenna

    March 5, 2012 at 6:03 PM

    You’re very kind, Zorgor. 🙂 Thanks so much.

     
  10. Jenna

    March 6, 2012 at 10:06 AM

    Thanks so much, Jana. I’m glad you’ve been coming back to look at this again. 🙂 It means so much!

     
  11. drawingsofdubiousquality

    June 5, 2012 at 12:12 AM

    Hello, this drawing is incredible! I came across it while googling Staedtler Pigment Liner. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      June 5, 2012 at 10:57 AM

      Hello drawingsofdubiousquality (with a name like that, I must check out your blog!). Thank you very much for the kind words! I’m so happy you like this drawing. Hard to beat those Staedtler Pigment Liners…those and Faber-Castell Pitt pens. 🙂 I appreciate the comments very much.

       

Leave a Reply

 
