RSS

Unveiling of a Sunset

04 Mar

My camera has been doing a lot of lazing around lately, it seems.  It will go onto overtime once spring starts to appear, but at the moment, it rarely gets outside, or even out of its case.

Even so, here are a few recent shots.  This sunset was just a few days ago.  It started out with a bold line of orange beneath cold, blue clouds.  It had been overcast all day before this sunset.  Slowly, though, the sun seemed to edge under the thick line of clouds and bring some life and dimension to them.  It was fun to watch.

It started like so…

Powerful and bright behind the black clouds…

And then…it started to look almost like a shimmer…

And it began to light the sky.

And that shimmering spot started to look almost like a twin sun.  Very strange, yet very beautiful, don’t you think?

The cold black sky began to warm…

And it did not seem to loom so heavily anymore.

The warmth and the light began to change the dreary-looking landscape.  Below is a waterway that has been flowing lately due to rain and warmer temperatures.  I loved how it had the look of lava under this sky!

Sometimes, it seems like windows are looking at things…like the eyes of a building…

It was so lovely.

And then, slowly, the heat of the colors began to cool…

And the sunset became complete…

What a miracle the sunset is.  I love that we get one every single day.

Thank you for looking.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags:

12 responses to “Unveiling of a Sunset

  1. Judy

    March 4, 2012 at 11:43 PM

    Great sunset series, Jenna! I love how you took us right through it from start to finish…and what a finish it was!

     
    • Jenna

      March 5, 2012 at 9:34 AM

      Thank you, Judy! It was a beautiful sunset, to be sure. 🙂

       
  2. KatiesCameraBlog

    March 5, 2012 at 8:48 AM

    Beautiful sunset photos, Jenna! 🙂 I know what you mean about the camera. I am just not inspired lately. And i hate that. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      March 5, 2012 at 9:37 AM

      Thanks, Katie! I hate when I just don’t see beauty in things and take pictures. It’s that time of year when it’s cold and wet outside, and winter has made the landscape a little colorless. I hope we are both inspired to start snapping more pictures soon. 🙂

       
      • KatiesCameraBlog

        March 5, 2012 at 9:40 AM

        I agree! I hope we both get inspiration again soon! 🙂 Take care, Jenna!

         
  3. Inspired and pretty

    March 5, 2012 at 5:56 PM

    Jenna…I almost fainted… Too much beauty in one post ! I adore the photo with the barn and the next photo is a pure beauty. They are all very very beautiful ! Sigh…

     
    • Jenna

      March 5, 2012 at 6:34 PM

      Jocelyne, I am so happy you like the photos! It was a gorgeous sunset. I like to look out the window around sunset every day just to make sure I have the camera handy should the sunset be especially beautiful.

      That barn you mentioned is actually an old grainery, and it happens to be my favorite building. Its full of dust, rust, and tons of old, beautiful junky items. I’ve spent hours upon hours exploring it, and I’ve taken a number of photos of it inside and out. I’ve been meaning to put together a post just for the photos I’ve taken of this wonderful old building. Within the old, weathered wood walls of this building, I’ve found a number of odd pieces that I’ve used for my junk sculptures. Both of the sculptures in the below links have been made in part by the items found inside the grainery. 🙂

      https://thecozyred.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/junk-sculpture-horse-and-rider/

      https://thecozyred.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/powerhouse-cow/

      Thanks very much. 🙂

       
      • Inspired and pretty

        March 5, 2012 at 9:53 PM

        Thanks for the links Jenna, I’ll look at them for sure. I’d love to see a post on that beautiful old grainery !

         
  4. Jenna

    March 5, 2012 at 6:24 PM

    Thanks very much, Katie. 🙂

     
  5. Jenna

    March 6, 2012 at 10:09 AM

    You’re welcome, Jocelyne. I hope you like the two posts and sculptures in the links. 🙂 I’ll try and compose the post with the grainery soon.

     
  6. zorgor

    March 10, 2012 at 6:55 PM

    Beautiful!

     
    • Jenna

      March 10, 2012 at 10:15 PM

      Thank you so much, Zorgor! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
