RSS

Horse, wired…

09 Mar

There’s something I love about making sculptures out of wire and wire alone. Could it be because I’m cheap? Maybe. 😉 Even so, I love seeing what can be done with this simple hardware item. Here’s what I’ve done most recently. I started by constructing the legs and hooves. At first, I just had four wired “sticks” with a coil on one end. And then, slowly, I made the body by winding wire around and around, trying to keep an eye on the shape so it was horse-like as I went. When the time was right, I joined the legs to this body and secured them tightly. I then added the head and neck to this. Originally, I was going to have the horse with his head up, but the posture seemed to suggest grazing, so that’s what I ended up doing. The ears and the tail (which is not snug and can swing a bit) were added as a finishing touch. It was great fun and probably took around 6 hours total.  You can click the images to see them larger if you’d like.

Below is a photo of the bottom on the hooves.

This sculpture is about 5 &1/2 inches tall and 10 inches long.  The photo below should give you an idea of the size.  Cats are never impressed with art unless they are part of it. 😉

Despite how much this cat looks like my Oliver, he isn’t.  The cat pictured here is Jack, and he’s a tough outdoor cat who has somewhat of a barking meow.  He’s very involved with the photo session here, as you can see. 🙂

I hope you like the sculpture.  Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Horse, wired…

  1. janukke

    March 9, 2012 at 3:33 PM

    Wow. Simply wow. This is all kinds of awesome! 🙂 Great photo shoot too. Jack rocks. 😀

     
    • Jenna

      March 10, 2012 at 12:46 PM

      Thanks so much, Jana! I’m so glad you like this horse. I had so much fun making this. Haha, I’ll send your kind thoughts along to Jack. 😀

       
  2. zorgor

    March 10, 2012 at 8:52 PM

    Wow. Awesome as ever! Wire… just wire. Amazing!

     
    • Jenna

      March 10, 2012 at 10:21 PM

      Thank you, Zorgor. Yes, just wire, and wire alone. 🙂 I’m so happy you like this!

       
  3. Laurie G

    March 11, 2012 at 5:56 PM

    Jenna, true talent with your wire sculpture. You need find some art contests or exhibits (ie county & state fairs) to showcase your work. I think you on the road to maybe even a business. Laurie G

     
    • Jenna

      March 11, 2012 at 8:27 PM

      Hi Laurie G. Thank you so much! I do enter a lot of my work in the State Fair, and will likely enter this in the sculpture category this summer. Thanks very much! I’d be very happy to make my art work for me, so to speak. Thanks again! 🙂

       
  4. KatiesCameraBlog

    March 20, 2012 at 10:54 AM

    I so love your sculptures, Jenna. And I thought he was huge! Such deception sometimes. Love this!

     
    • Jenna

      March 20, 2012 at 5:14 PM

      Thank you, Katie! Several people have seen this image and thought it was much bigger than it really is. It’s about the size of the “Trail of Painted Ponies” figurines are, if you’re familiar with them. Thanks again! I’m so glad you like this. 🙂

       
  5. Inspired and pretty

    March 20, 2012 at 9:44 PM

    Wow ! It’s amazing ! I have never seen these kind of sculptures anywhere else before and I love them ! I like the proportions of this sculpture, you respected the forms of a horse making the sculpture look very realistic. It also looks delicate even if it’s made of wire, I think that’s what impresses me the more. And the fact that it only took you 6 hours to do it ! It would have taken me a couple of months and I’m sure it would be very ugly and more resembling an elephant…
    I love the two photos with the cat !

     
    • Jenna

      March 22, 2012 at 3:18 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like this and that the proportions look right. This sculpture hit a few “ugly stages” before I was happy with it. It’s very fun, though, to sit there and wind the wire. This works especially well when listening to music. Much like stippling, this seems to have a rhythm.

      And hey, there’s nothing wrong with elephants! 🙂 Thanks again. I truly appreciate the kind words.

       
  6. jmnpixels

    March 29, 2012 at 3:47 AM

    It looks real, if wire can look real. Good work with the sculpture. Cats are wonderful too and make things just much more fun, don’t they! Excellent post.

     
    • Jenna

      March 29, 2012 at 12:05 PM

      Thank you so much, jmnpixels! You comment made me smile. I’m glad this looks realistic. Oh yes, without cats, things would be much more boring around here. 🙂 Thank you very much. I appreciate it!

       
  7. Sartenada

    April 2, 2012 at 9:42 AM

    Awesome art. I do love art which is not conventional.

     
    • Jenna

      April 2, 2012 at 11:05 AM

      Thanks very much, Sartenada! I love unconventional art, too. Most of the time, it’s cheaper than buying actual art supplies. 🙂 Plus, it makes for a more interesting outcome sometimes. Thanks again.

       

Leave a Reply

 
