RSS

An Apple, a Pear, and a One-Year Anniversary

12 Mar

My friends, today marks the one-year anniversary of this blog.  The time has flown!  I deeply appreciate everyone who follows, comments, and checks in on my blog.  Thank you very much, everyone!  Take a bow. 😀

I had in mind to do something unique for the one-year mark, but couldn’t think of anything.  I guess I should have given it more thought.  Anyway, I have been oil painting again, so here is a post about that.

This is the next step in the class I’ve been taking.  This time, the assignment was to set up our own still life as close to our teacher’s as we could and paint from life.  It was a lot of fun, but was it ever hard!  The colors of these things in real life were more defined, not to mention more complex, than in a photo.  It was really a learning process, and it was fun to boot.

First, I’ll show a photo of my still life setup.  We were to use a single light source, and also something to reflect the light and color onto the other side of the composition (that purple thing).  I used a fake apple and a fake pear.  This way, I don’t have to worry about them getting old and rotten in my studio.  I also don’t have to worry about those pesky gnats this way! 🙂

Here is the basic composition I used for my painting…

And finally, the painting itself.  It seems I have over-emphasized the highlights on the apple.  In real life, the apple is very shiny and really reflects the paper towel.  The highlights don’t show as much in the photos above.  The trickiest part of this painting was that pale violet highlight on the right side of the apple.  I really struggled with that and am still giving it an ugly look as I’m not sure how to make it look right.

All in all, though, it was a lot of fun!  Thanks for looking, and thank you for the support, likes, and comments! 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in All Artwork, Paintings

 

12 responses to “An Apple, a Pear, and a One-Year Anniversary

  1. Donna G

    March 12, 2012 at 7:41 PM

    Jenna, that looks great! I’m hoping to find time soon to set up mine…I just hope it comes out as good as yours 🙂

    Donna G

     
    • Jenna

      March 12, 2012 at 8:17 PM

      Hi Donna. Thanks so much! I can’t wait to see yours. Painting this from life was no easy trick, but I learned a lot. Have fun with your painting. Thanks very much for the kind comments. I really appreciate it! 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    March 13, 2012 at 11:28 AM

    Happy blogoversary Jenna !! Isn’t it great to look back at all the things you’ve been doing in the past year ? I have been following you for the past 4 months and I enjoyed it all the way ! Long life to your blog !
    The painting is beautiful even if you don’t like the violet highlight ! 🙂 Can you correct it even if it has dried out ? I think the reflections of the paper towel are pretty well done and I really like the background with the black and violet. Did you texturized the background or is it the natural texture of the canvas that I see ?
    Keep painting with colours Jenna, it’s beautiful !

     
    • Jenna

      March 16, 2012 at 7:35 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! Yes, it’s always nice to have a milestone so we can look back and see what has changed for the better in the past year. I am so happy you’ve been enjoying your visits to my blog, and hope it will continue to be enjoyable for you.

      I believe I could go back and tweak things once this has dried, though I don’t know that I will. It’s a piece for practice and learning, and I would be more tempted to repaint it altogether rather than fiddle with this one more. The textures you see in the background are simply that of the canvas. Thank you again. It means so much! 🙂

       
  3. janukke

    March 13, 2012 at 3:03 PM

    Happy blogoversary from me too! 🙂

    Your still life of the peach and apple turned out great! Whatever you say, I cannot spot anything that´s wrong with it.

    I love reading here so please keep it coming! 🙂

    Cheers!
    Jana

     
    • Jenna

      March 16, 2012 at 7:37 PM

      Thank you, Jana! 🙂 You are so kind. I really appreciate your kind words. I’ll keep on blogging, and am so happy to have you following along. 🙂

       
  4. zorgor

    March 14, 2012 at 7:23 PM

    Congratulations! The painting is great. No one looking at it will see the photo and have any idea that that’s not exactly the way it was. …except everyone on the internet. Oh! Um.

     
    • Jenna

      March 16, 2012 at 7:38 PM

      Thank you, Zorgor! You’re right…I may have doomed this painting in a sense, posting it with the reference photo. 😉 Oh well, it is for practice, after all. Thanks again!

       
  5. Lenore Busch

    March 17, 2012 at 8:45 PM

    It looks good to me Jenna. I love the apple as it looks like it was just picked off the tree. The pear looks more life like than the real thing. I say good job.

     
    • Jenna

      March 18, 2012 at 11:56 AM

      Thank you so much, Lenore! I’m so happy you like this. I miss seeing your paintings. I hope you’ve had a chance to paint lately. You’re very kind. Thank you again! 🙂

       
  6. KatiesCameraBlog

    March 20, 2012 at 10:43 AM

    Congrats on your one year anniversary! Wonderful! And I like this painting too. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      March 20, 2012 at 5:16 PM

      Thank you so much, Katie! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
