RSS

Spring!

30 Mar

While I’ve been lazy and not getting much artwork done lately, I have been trying to snap some photos of the amazing springtime transformation.  We seem to have gotten spring early this year, and the grass already needs to be mowed.

I spent some time outside yesterday and the day before, just walking with my camera.  It’s one of life’s great pleasures to drink in nature and be able to photograph it.  It’s been pretty windy here lately, so it’s been a challenge to get nice, crisp photos of the tender young leaves.  Here are some that did turn out ok though.  I hope you enjoy.

I love the first grass of the year.  It always looks so velvety and soft.

The hostas are springing to life already.

As you can see, it’s quite dry.  We got some rain last night, though, so I imagine the plants will really start to grow now.

The crab apple tree has the most beautiful red leaves, and the blossoms are hot pink.  You’ll likely see photos of the blossoms when they show up later.  It’s a very pretty tree.

I’ll bet you can figure out who is in the center of the photo below. 🙂

Of course, I’m never alone in my outside hikes.  I always have at least one cat begging for attention.

And speaking of cats…I am happy to say that my little outdoor feline family has grown up and thrived over winter, and a couple of them will soon be mothers, themselves.  Look at those little round tummies!

Happy Spring!  Thank you for looking.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Spring!

  1. Elly

    March 30, 2012 at 3:33 PM

    I love these pictures! Watching everything come out of hibernation is so amazing – thanks for sharing!

    Also, the first picture of the cat is hysterical and adorable all at once. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      March 30, 2012 at 10:20 PM

      Thanks so much, Elly! I agree…watching the earth spring to life this time of year is amazing.

      Thanks! He definitely loves to be the center of attention. 🙂

       
  2. Judy

    March 30, 2012 at 10:56 PM

    Jenna….What beautiful photos of spring! I love them….each so different from the other. Such a treat!
    What a beautiful property you were walking on…is this yours? It’s gorgeous…seems like there’s a lake and I love the grassy hillside, lots of trees too. What a beautiful sanctuary.
    Thanks for sharing your floral photos….and also your fauna photos too! 😉 Your sweet pets are adorable…and those fat little tummies are just waiting for a wee scratch or two, I imagine!

     
    • Jenna

      March 31, 2012 at 8:18 PM

      Thank you so much, Judy! Yes, these were all taken at my home. Actually, what appears to be a lake is simply the sky in these photos. There is a pond on the property, but it’s not pictured here.

      I’m so happy you like these photos. Oh yes, any scratches and pats are very welcome to these little ladies and their brothers, too. 🙂 Thanks again.

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    March 31, 2012 at 9:52 AM

    This is a post celebrating life ! The new leaves opening to the sun, the soft grass covering the hills and the cats who will give birth… Isn’t it beautiful and isn’t life a miracle ? 🙂
    I love the colours of the crab apple tree and the photo of the hillside and trees is a beauty.
    Is it Simon we see in the middle of the photo ?
    It’s so good to see some colours, I envy you, here we still have snow, we had 5 cm two days ago…
    But I’m happy it snowed because I’m going to the sugar-shack tomorrow and I just can’t imagine going there without snow !

     
    • Jenna

      March 31, 2012 at 8:25 PM

      I’m so happy you like this post, Jocelyne! Thank you. Yes indeed, life is a beautiful and miraculous thing, and this time of year, it is especially amazing, isn’t it?

      The crab apple tree is always this lovely red, until the blossoms show, and then it’s very, very pink! It’s beautiful. You guessed it! It’s Simon. I was taking pictures, and he was sitting there in the yard, so I made a composition around him, and focused on the tree, letting him be vague and mysterious. 🙂

      I am glad you enjoy the winter and the snow, but I hope you’ll see some spring colors soon, too. Thanks again for the kind comments.

       
  4. jmnartsy

    April 3, 2012 at 1:08 AM

    Honestly, I can live without the pix of the tree branches and buds, but that first pic of the cat at your feet is so hilarious and adorable….if that isn’t love, I don’t know what is! I luv it! You are so lucky!

     
    • Jenna

      April 3, 2012 at 8:36 PM

      Hi jmnartsy. Thank you for the kind comments. I’m so happy you like the photo of the cat at my feet, Isn’t he sweet? Very loyal, too. Thank you. I really cherish animals, and am grateful to have them in my life. 🙂

       
  5. zorgor

    April 12, 2012 at 8:56 PM

    Beautiful! I especially like the grassy slope. It looks like part of an enchanted forest…

     
    • Jenna

      April 12, 2012 at 10:29 PM

      Thank you, Zorgor! I’m glad you like the photos. The grassy slope is a part of a cattle pasture that has been grazed on during the summer for many, many years. If you notice those bare dirt lines in the photo…those are trails that have been trodden by many cattle over the years. Thanks again. I’m happy you like it. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
