RSS

Scratchboard Oliver (WIP)

02 Apr

I’m working with something a little different this time.  Scratchboard.  This is a really fun form of artwork which is basically drawing in reverse.  It starts with a wood board coated in a thin layer of white clay, and coated again with black ink.  You then take a blade (I like to use an X-Acto Knife), or anything else you’d like, and you scratch out the image.  This is my second scratchboard, but I’d like to do more.

Being just my second scratchboard, what better to draw on it than my Oliver?  I’ve only drawn him once, not counting a few quick sketches, so it was time to try again.  I’m having a lot of fun with this one.  It’s got a long way to go, but here’s the start.  It’s 8×10 inches in size.  Sorry about the dust in the image.  I should have wiped the board off before scanning it.

Thanks for looking.  Happy April!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

8 responses to “Scratchboard Oliver (WIP)

  1. janukke

    April 2, 2012 at 12:58 PM

    This is amazing! I always love to see pictures of Oliver and this portrait of him is just stunning! This scratchboard technique is kind of mystic too. I really like it.
    I cannot believe it´s only the second scratchboard you ever did! You are incredibly talented! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      April 2, 2012 at 2:45 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! I’m glad you enjoy seeing pictures of Oliver. I hope this portrait will capture his likeness and be worth it in the end. Well, I am learning as I scratch this piece, so it’s already worthwhile. The scratchboard is a little bit mysterious, isn’t it? I am a big fan of deep darks in art, so scratchboard seems a good fit for my style.

      Thank you very much. It is appreciated! 🙂

       
  2. BreOfficialBlog

    April 2, 2012 at 1:58 PM

    Fantastic Artwork, I have never heard of the Scratch board technique but you did a Great job with it.

     
    • Jenna

      April 2, 2012 at 2:46 PM

      Thank you so much, BreOfficialBlog! Scratchboard is fairly new to me, as well, but I’ve seen some amazing things done with it. I really enjoy it. I appreciate the kind comments. 🙂

       
  3. jmnartsy

    April 3, 2012 at 1:12 AM

    Such a wonderful depiction. Reminds me of what is typically called dark background photography; it makes the subject really Pop. Will be interested to see the final version. Good work! I like it.

     
    • Jenna

      April 3, 2012 at 8:38 PM

      Thank you so much, jmnartsy. Yes, photos with a black background are very striking. With any luck, this will have a sense of realism that will make people stop and look twice. ) Thank you. I hope to work on this again soon.

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    April 6, 2012 at 7:50 AM

    Wow, it’s superb ! The contrast between black and white gives so much depth to the image. I didn’t know of this technique, it’s so different from your usual drawing. I’m always so impressed when I see your drawings, they are fantastic ! You are a fine and GREAT artist Jenna !
    I’m looking forward to see it when it’s finished !

     
    • Jenna

      April 6, 2012 at 6:58 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! It is a lot different than my usual drawings. It’s basically drawing in reverse. Instead of drawing the shadows and dark to add depth, you draw (or carve out, I should say) the highlights. It’s really different, and can be hard to train the eye to see the lights instead of the darks. It’s really a nice change of pace though. Thanks so much for the very kind comments. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
