RSS

Something New…and Jellyfish Too

07 Apr

Hello friends,

After much debate, I went ahead and got the video feature for my blog.  I was encouraged to try it after some of you very kindly asked to see a video of me working on a drawing.  Well, I haven’t gotten a chance to make that video yet, but here is one I have that I thought I would share with you.

Last year, I had the privilege of being able to watch live jellyfish in the aquatic attraction at the Mall of America.  The entire underwater attraction in the mall is breathtaking, and I urge you to go if you get the chance.  Of all the beautiful and interesting creatures there, the jellyfish were positively captivating.  I never thought I would see a jellyfish and think of it as beautiful, but that’s exactly how I felt.  They were serene, pretty, unique…truly a wonder to watch.

This was filmed with the same camera I use for the photos you see here on my blog.  (A FujiFilm S700.)  The video quality is not exceptional by any means, but it’s a handy feature to have with my regular camera.

Of course, the original video sounds are noisy and abrasive, and altogether clashing with the beauty of these jellyfish, so I took out the original sound and replaced it with something more serene.  With my collection of music, which consists mostly of movie scores, I searched until I found the song I felt went with this video perfectly.  Please turn up your volume and listen to the music.  It’s very beautiful.

The music is from the soundtrack of “The Water Horse”, composed by James Newton Howard.  The song is called “You Didn’t Even Get Wet”.  Oddly fitting, isn’t it? 🙂

Please let me know if this video, for some reason, does not work.  Video blogging is very new to me, so I hope it all goes well.

Just because of the beauty of these jellyfish, I took some photos, as well.

Aren’t they truly amazing?  This photo below is my personal favorite of the jellyfish photos.

And here is the same photo in black and white.  Aren’t they striking creatures?

Thank you for looking.  I hope you’ll enjoy the video as well as the photos.  Have a great day, and Happy Easter!  I may not have a chance to make an Easter post, so I thought I’d say that now. 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2012 in Photography, Videos

 

10 responses to “Something New…and Jellyfish Too

  1. Pattie

    April 8, 2012 at 4:59 PM

    I love this! Just yesterday I saw a beautiful photograph in one of Greg Newington’s gallery of jellyfish that was similar to some of yours– very similar colors, etc.

     
    • Jenna

      April 9, 2012 at 10:28 AM

      Thank you so much, Pattie! It was really something to be able to see jellyfish in real life. I was truly mesmerized. I kept wandering back to watch them some more while I was there. It was an amazing thing to watch. Thanks for the comments. 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    April 10, 2012 at 7:47 AM

    This is so very beautiful ! Nature will never cease to amaze me ! The colour of these jellyfish is superb and the photos are very beautiful too.
    The choice of music was perfect with the video, what a lovely music !
    Now I won’t see jellyfish the same way I used to !

     
    • Jenna

      April 10, 2012 at 11:02 AM

      Thank you very much, Jocelyne. As you can see, my filming skills are pretty primitive, but you get the idea, anyway, 🙂 I agree; nature is such an amazing thing. I am a fan of the show “Planet Earth”. Have you seen it? I always watch it in awe, and can’t believe what I’m seeing sometimes.

      I’m glad you liked the music, as well. I’m so happy you can appreciate the beauty in these creatures. They were amazing! Thanks for the kind comments.

       
      • Inspired and pretty

        April 10, 2012 at 9:28 PM

        Yes I have seen it and I loved it so much I bought the series on DVD’s ! I also have the film/documentary Home from Yannick Arthus-Bertrand, this is another wonderful film with stunning images. Our planet is a real beauty and each time I see an image of it from space, I am in awe too !

         
  3. Jenna

    April 11, 2012 at 3:03 PM

    I bought them on DVD, too. It is a great series, and so amazing. I’ve not heard of Home from Yannick Arthus-Bertrand. I will have to look it up. I agree. Our world is an incredible thing!

     
    • Inspired and pretty

      April 11, 2012 at 3:49 PM

      Hi Jenna ! The film Home was entirely filmed from the air, in an helicopter, in 55 different countries. The images are incredibly beautiful. This film is a documentary explaining the many problems we are facing on Earth, environment, poverty and how we can change all that. Sometimes it’s a bit depressing but it ends positively and gives us hope. It’s a must see ! It’s on YouTube.

       
      • Jenna

        April 12, 2012 at 10:16 PM

        Thanks for the information, Jocelyne. It does sound like an interesting show. 🙂

         
  4. zorgor

    April 14, 2012 at 10:19 PM

    Jellyfish are amazing and captivating to watch! Thanks for the cool video!

     
    • Jenna

      April 14, 2012 at 10:36 PM

      Aren’t they, Zorgor? Very amazing and so beautiful. I’m glad you liked the video. Thanks for the kind comments. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
