RSS

Cat Scratches (Oliver WIP)

09 Apr

I hope you all had a nice Easter.  Mine was nice, and rather quiet, so I had a chance to do a little more scratching on Oliver’s portrait in scratchboard.  I am having great fun with this.  Unfortunately, I’ve been finding a few problems with proportions and placement of some of his features, but I’m going to try and keep going anyway.  After all, it’s a learning process.

I’ve been moving slowly across his face, carving out the details of his stripes as though they were a detailed map.  It reminds me a lot of when I was working on the drawing of the Boxer and trying to creep my way across all of those intricate wrinkles of his snout.  Stippling with ink and working with scratchboard feel strangely similar.

Here is how Oliver looks at the moment.  Slowly but surely showing up out of the dark.  It suits his character to be done in this dark medium.  He’s so full of mystery and intrigue.  …Ok, so he’s actually full of catnip and cuddles, but he would want you to think that he is mysterious, powerful…something to be respected.  I love how cats have sky-high self esteem! 🙂

Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

2 responses to “Cat Scratches (Oliver WIP)

  1. zorgor

    April 15, 2012 at 9:47 PM

    Lots of progress since the last post! Looks great!

     
    • Jenna

      April 16, 2012 at 8:56 PM

      Thanks, Zorgor. I worked on this today and Oliver now has a body. Hope to post it soon. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
