RSS

Cat Scratches WIP (No Longer Just a Floating Head…)

17 Apr

Oliver now has a body to go with his face.  It’s been reckless, impulsive, mistake-riddled, and challenging to get things laid out right on the board, but I think it’s getting there now.  I spent some time on this yesterday while watching one of my favorite tv shows, “American Pickers”. 🙂

This is looking a little bare and overly subtle, so more needs to be done with this cat.  He’s getting there though.  This is another couple of hours’ work.  I can hardly wait to put in Oliver’s big white whiskers.  I am so eager to do it, in fact, that I’m not letting myself do it until this is about done.  I need something to work toward so it doesn’t just sit and gather dust.  I have a bad habit of getting almost done with a drawing and then stopping.

I hope you like it so far.  Thank you for looking!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Cat Scratches WIP (No Longer Just a Floating Head…)

  1. zorgor

    April 18, 2012 at 11:40 AM

    Wow, what a difference a body makes! All this time I’d imagined his body on the other side… 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      April 18, 2012 at 4:23 PM

      Yes, he seems a little more, ah, down to earth with his body in place, doesn’t he? 😉 I can see why you could think that about which way he is looking. I was getting photos of him on the afternoon sun one day, and he was looking out the window, even though his body was facing away from it. You can see my reference photo in this post, the third photo. https://thecozyred.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/nothing-like-the-springtime-sun/ Thanks for the comments. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        April 18, 2012 at 5:19 PM

        Yeah, ‘down to earth’ is a good term. It was more ethereal before. 🙂 I imagined a stalking pose — lion in the tall grass about to spring on an antelope or wildebeest!

         
  2. Jenna

    April 18, 2012 at 5:35 PM

    Wouldn’t Oliver love to be that lion about to catch the antelope! He would be flattered to be thought of in such a way. 🙂 He is quite an expert hunter. He will have caught a mouse before anyone even realizes there is a mouse in the house.

     
  3. Inspired and pretty

    April 20, 2012 at 11:57 AM

    Oh he’s getting there alright ! Like Zorgor I also imagined his body on the other side, how funny !
    You are so patient, scratching all the hair one by one ! This board is going to be awesome so don’t stop before it’s finished ! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      April 20, 2012 at 8:21 PM

      Thanks, Jocelyne. Yes, he’s getting there. 🙂 I really appreciate the kind comments. I worked on this today, and he’s nearing the finish…I think. I’m not familiar with scratchboard, really, so I’m kind of guessing as I go. I hope not to overwork it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
