RSS

Cat Scratches…Whiskers for Oliver

21 Apr

I know, I know…I said that I wouldn’t let myself put in Oliver’s whiskers until the rest of the piece was done…but I rebelled.  After all, a cat is nothing without his whiskers, and Oliver would hate to be whiskerless, I just know it.

I did work elsewhere on this piece though, filling in the fur all over, making some subtle changes to the face, etc.  For some of the fur on the body and for those thick whiskers, I used a more blunt blade (made just for scratchboard).  The whiskers were a bit scary to do, but really fun.  I had to apply firm pressure to carve them out, and had to be careful not to let the lines become angular.  Fortunately, it went alright.  What a relief!  He’s getting closer to done now.

If you notice that one whisker off by the side of his face, that’s something I’ve always loved about Oliver.  He has these whiskers, one on each side of the face (as do most cats), and when you click your tongue or make some sound he knows well, they twitch ever so slightly.  You always know when he’s listening by watching his side-of-the-head whiskers.

Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

6 responses to “Cat Scratches…Whiskers for Oliver

  1. jmnpixels

    April 22, 2012 at 6:26 AM

    Getting better…or is this now the finished pic?

     
    • Jenna

      April 22, 2012 at 12:21 PM

      Thanks very much, jmnpixels! This isn’t done yet, as I’d like to create some more contrast so he stands out more. He’s getting there though. 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    April 23, 2012 at 9:44 AM

    Wow….All those scratches… Have you count how many you did so far ? 🙂
    Adding the whiskers made all the difference, now he looks like a cat. It was strange seeing him without them ! I like his eyes with all the tiny tiny scratches. It’s very beautiful Jenna.
    I don’t know to what extent you are known as an artist but did you show your artwork to museums curators yet ? If not, I strongly encourage you to do so ! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      April 23, 2012 at 3:15 PM

      Wow, thank you so much, Jocelyne! Counting these scratches would be tedious work indeed, and I’m afraid I don’t really want to start counting. 😉 I’m glad that you like the whiskers. They do make a difference, don’t they?

      Your very generous words about my seeking a museum curator truly made my day. Wow, that really means a great deal to hear that you think my work is good enough for that. I’ve been doing “serious” art for probably a little over ten years. Each year I enter competitions, mostly state and county fairs. Where I live, there doesn’t seem to be a lot of artistic interest, but you’ve inspired me with what you said. I am going to try and contact a local historical opera house that allows local artists to display their work and see about having an exhibit. Thank you so much for the great works and the inspiration. You made my day! 🙂

       
      • Inspired and pretty

        April 23, 2012 at 3:58 PM

        Jenna, GO FOR IT ! Don’t hesitate ! I am no museum curator but I have been to Metropolitain Museum Of Art in New-York and saw an exposition from the Louvre in Quebec and went to some other museum too, and when I look at your art I have that same feeling of awe I had when I was looking at painting from Monet, Renoir, Tissot or English painters. When it comes to our own work of art we never see it as other can, we are very hard on ourselves. If there is poor interest in your town for great artists like you, seek other museums in big towns ! Don’t be intimidated by big museums, e-mail them some of your art. I know it can be frustrating to keep having negative responses from them, but ask many great author how many times they were rejected before finally being published. I know authorJ.K. Rowling’s (Harry Potter) was rejected by a dozen publishers ! And visualize it, and believe it can happen, that’s very important ! I just can’t believe your art is going unnoticed, it’s too beautiful !

         
  3. Jenna

    April 24, 2012 at 11:54 AM

    Thank you so much for the encouragement, Jocelyne! Wow…wow, it is extremely high praise indeed that you feel the same emotions in my work as you do in those great masters. Thank you so much. You are so kind, and I really appreciate it!

    Yes, I’ve heard that authors are usually rejected many times, and it could certainly be disheartening. It’s important to keep your chin up. 🙂 Thanks again. I truly appreciate it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
