RSS

Cat Scratches…Done, I Think

30 Apr

I went over this a little more last night, and now it feels pretty much done.  I signed it, and that’s usually my artist’s brain’s way of saying “stop, that’s enough, now”.  You’ll see I’ve added a hint of color to Oliver.  I debated whether or not to add color, but I was in a gutsy sort of mood last night, and I just went for it.  I used Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens (the color set, with a brush tip) for the color of the eyes and the nose.

What a scare I had!  I added the colors, feeling carefree and impulsive, and just like that, I had this wild, crazy moment of panic.  I surely had wrecked this piece!  When I added the green for the eyes, suddenly, they were very, very dark, and this portrait, as a whole, seemed to fall flat just like that.  I’ve heard a great artist friend of mine say many times that a portrait, essentially, is all about the eyes.  If the eyes aren’t right, nothing can really save the portrait.  …So you can imagine the wild scramble of my thoughts when I thought I had ruined Oliver’s clear, stark eyes.  I took a deep breath, picked up my X-Acto knife again, and started to pluck away at the eyes again.  Little by little, they lightened, gentled, and became better.  I kept working at this until I felt happy with it again.  Whew, what a relief!

So here is what I believe to be the finished portrait of my Oliver.  It was a lot of fun.  I learned a lot, and it made for a nice change of scenery in my art world.  Up next, I think I’ll be drawing a dachshund in ink.

Oliver

-8×10 inches in size

-Ampersand Scratchboard

-X-Acto Knife and Scratch-Art Knife, with the addition of Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens (brush size) in the colors of May Green and Crome Green Opaque for the eyes, and the colors of Terracotta and Indian Red for the nose.

Thank you for looking, for the comments, and for following along on this art journey.  I hope you’ll join me for the next one. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Cat Scratches…Done, I Think

  1. zorgor

    May 1, 2012 at 9:43 PM

    Looks great! I think the color in the eyes and nose brings the whole thing to life. Really. But then, I am all about color… 🙂 Really looks good! Excellent work!

     
    • Jenna

      May 1, 2012 at 11:27 PM

      Thanks so much, Zorgor! I’m glad you feel that way about the color. It was a scary step to take, but seemed to work out alright in the end. 🙂 I appreciate the kind comments.

       
  2. janukke

    May 2, 2012 at 1:32 AM

    It turned out wonderfully, Jen!! Aw, those gentle colours in the eyes and nose are just about right. And I am totally in love with how you drew Oliver´s furr! It´s so “real”. 🙂 Great one.

     
    • Jenna

      May 2, 2012 at 3:10 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! I’m happy you like the colors. It was really a lot of fun, and I recently picked up more scratchboards for the next time inspiration comes to do this. Thanks again! 🙂

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    May 6, 2012 at 11:50 AM

    Oh, the colours came as a surprise, I would have never guessed you would use them and I love it !
    Great work and very beautiful Jenna.
    Dachshund are so cute, I’m looking forward to see your drawing.
    Right now, I am keeping a little Yorkshire, she’s so cute and adorable !

     
    • Jenna

      May 6, 2012 at 12:33 PM

      The colors were rather impulsive, and in a way, they kind of surprised me, too, Jocelyne. 🙂 Thank you so much for the very kind comments on this piece. I appreciate it very much!

      Thanks. The dachshund is just a vague, poorly-sketched outline at the moment, but it’ll come in time, I think. As soon as I feel a little better about the sketch, I’ll post it here. You have a Yorkie? What fun! Is she yours, or are you watching her for someone? I’ve only heard about Winny. Have fun with the little Yorkie! Thanks again.

       
      • Inspired and pretty

        May 6, 2012 at 1:29 PM

        I thought the word “keeping” was maybe not the right word but I didn’t know which word to use 🙂
        She’s not mine, I’m watching her for my neighbor, they were in Cuba the past week and they are coming home today. I’ll miss the little Princesse when she’s gone ! I had her for 9 days and I said to my boyfriend that if someday they decide they don’t want her anymore, I’ll take her with us ! And she gets along very well with Winny !

         
  4. Jenna

    May 6, 2012 at 4:45 PM

    It sounds like you have fallen in love with her. 🙂 Maybe you’ll have to adopt a Yorkie someday…or as you said, be ready to take this one if she ever needs a home. Sounds like you’ve had a lot of fun with her.

     

Leave a Reply

 
