RSS

Cool Cat

14 May

For Mother’s Day, I made my mom a sculpture of a cat, because she loves cats just like I do.  Since I had a lot of fun and a good reaction from the wire horse, I made this cat from wire, as well.  It’s not quite as big as the horse however.  I can’t say how much wire I used this time, because I bought a half mile spool of fencing wire to save money.  All I can say is that it took a decent chunk, but there’s plenty of wire left for more sculptures.

Cool Cat

-Made entirely with 17 gauge electric fencing wire and also some finer craft wire for the whiskers, ears, nose, and feet

-7 & 1/2 inches tall x 7 inches long x 2 inches wide

I have been playing with PhotoShop lately and liked the drama of this so I wanted to share.

Here is what this cat actually looks like.

For reference, you can see this sculpture, while somewhat taller, is basically kitten sized. 🙂

Thanks for looking.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

8 responses to “Cool Cat

  1. janukke

    May 14, 2012 at 1:44 PM

    Wow, that´s a wonderful sculpture, it´s so very much a cat! And those pictures are amazing too! 🙂 Ew, how cute is the last one with the kitten? 😉 I am sure you made your mom´s day. 🙂

    Jana

     
    • Jenna

      May 14, 2012 at 3:30 PM

      Thank you very much, Jana! So happy you like it. 🙂 It’s funny, my mom said the exact same thing you did, “It’s very much a cat” or at least along the same lines. Aren’t those kittens endearing? Thanks for the comments.

       
  2. zorgor

    May 15, 2012 at 10:37 PM

    Very cool! This wire sculpture idea is a good one — you should run with it more! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      May 15, 2012 at 11:05 PM

      Thank you so much, Zorgor! I do love making these…maybe I’ll try a dog next…or a longhorn, or some such thing. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        May 16, 2012 at 9:44 AM

        Yeah yeah! A longhorn! Or an elephant! Antelope or gazelle! 🙂 Or a pronghorn or elk if you want to stick to a western theme…

         
  3. Jenna

    May 16, 2012 at 10:50 AM

    Zorgor, I really appreciate your enthusiasm! It makes me feel inspired to grab the pliers and get back to winding wire. 🙂 I’ve thought about an elephant. Could be a fun thing to sculpt. Love the idea of the horned and antlered animals too. Thanks for putting the ideas out there for me. 🙂

     
  4. Inspired and pretty

    May 18, 2012 at 10:00 PM

    Another great sculpture Jenna, all in finesse even though it’s made out of wire. I think this is what impresses me more, the fact that you’re using a coarse material like wire and you’re able to do something very artful and delicate with it.
    An elephant is a very good idea, it would look great !

     
    • Jenna

      May 19, 2012 at 11:51 AM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m very glad you like this. The funny thing about wire is that if I want to sculpt something, I can’t start until I’ve thought about it for a few days. I have to make some sort of illogical calculations in my head before just starting. Once I work out the issues, I get a pretty clear idea of how it will look and then I can start the sculpture. Thanks for the very nice comments. I may do an elephant sometime. I am currently working on a wood and wire tree to hang my jewelry on.

       

Leave a Reply

 
