RSS

Iron River

30 May

Hello there,

After somewhat of a break from this blog, I am back and bring with me some photos from a vacation I was on with my family last week.  We visited a place near Iron River, Wisconsin.  It was a nice vacation and a pretty lake and surrounding area.  We also spent a bit of time in Duluth.  That is such a beautiful area.  I’ll post photos from there next.   For today, Iron Lake and some of the scenery of the area.

Some fishing was done, but we did not catch much.

The lakeshore had a lot of these spiral shells, both empty and occupied by snails of some sort.

Of course, as usual, I enjoyed taking pictures of trails; though there weren’t many trails this time, I did find one. 🙂

There were Wild Columbine flowers scattered everywhere.  At least I think that’s what these are.  I always used to call them Japanese Lanterns until I googled them and found out I was wrong.  I love how delicate these flowers are.

Other plants and flowers were in the area as well.

This bench was a lovely place to sit and do some sketching.  I’ll upload the sketches I did on vacation later.

And the s’mores and toasted marshmallows sure hit the spot!

I hope you enjoyed the photos.  Thank you for looking.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2012 in Photography

 

14 responses to “Iron River

  1. Aaron Cohen Photography

    May 30, 2012 at 7:39 PM

    These are amazing photos! The textures and colors in many of them had me stunned, keep up the great work!

     
    • Jenna

      May 30, 2012 at 7:45 PM

      Thank you so much, Aaron! I really appreciate the kind comments. I checked out your blog and really like your photography! Thanks agan. 🙂

       
  2. The Pal Guy

    May 30, 2012 at 8:38 PM

    Great photos. It seems as if you had a nice time. I do belive, however, that the yellow flower in your post is a yellow buttercup. This is a good place i go to to identify wildfloweers.
    http://www.wildflowersofontario.ca/yellow.html
    Also, check out my post on wildflowers:
    http://thepalguy.com/2012/05/15/wildflowers/
    Cheers

     
    • Jenna

      May 30, 2012 at 10:35 PM

      Thanks so much, Pal Guy! I did have a nice time. 🙂 Thank you for the information about the flowers, and also for the great link to that website. Very helpful! Your blog is wonderful. You really have an eye for photography, and the colors of your shots are so vibriant. Thanks again!

       
  3. janukke

    June 1, 2012 at 1:56 AM

    Hi Jenna,
    I am glad you have had a great trip. Thanks for sharing those wonderful pictures! 🙂
    Jana

     
    • Jenna

      June 1, 2012 at 10:05 PM

      Hi Jana,

      Thanks. It was nice to get away and I am always thrilled for new scenery to photograph. I’m so happy you like the photos. I appreciate the comments.

       
  4. zorgor

    June 1, 2012 at 8:00 PM

    Looks like a beautiful, peaceful place.

     
    • Jenna

      June 1, 2012 at 10:05 PM

      It certainly was, Zorgor. Very pretty and relaxing. 🙂

       
  5. Inspired and pretty

    June 2, 2012 at 9:37 AM

    This vacation must have been so relaxing. There’s nothing like a cabin in front of a lake to forget about all worries and just spend a wonderful time fishing and hiking and reading or sketching ! That bench looks like such a great place to sit, I could stay there for long hours. The trail looks very inviting and the wild flowers are beautiful. Such a peaceful place. Ah ! I love the last photo, can’t wait to have some of these, soon I hope ! Beautiful photos Jenna and looking forward to the sketches you made.

     
    • Jenna

      June 2, 2012 at 11:36 AM

      It was a good vacation, Jocelyne. 🙂 I agree, there’s nothing like a relaxing vacation by water where there is much to take in and enjoy. Thank you for the very nice comments. I’ll post the Duluth pictures and the sketches soon.

       
  6. Judy

    June 4, 2012 at 9:53 PM

    Jenna….I love the scenery here. It’s so peaceful. The path you found makes an awesome photo. I love photos of paths where you can’t see the end. It makes it mysterious that way! That’s the way yours are. love the flowers…so delicate. It does look like a Mountain Columbine. The bench is a perfect place for reading, sketching…or just sitting. 😉
    When I saw “Iron River” as your post….I immediately thought of Iron River, MI. I had no idea there was one in Wisconsin! Glad you had a great time on vacation!

     
    • Jenna

      June 5, 2012 at 10:49 AM

      Hi Judy. Thank you so much! I’m happy you like these photos. I, too, am a big fan of paths that appear unending…especially wooded ones. They hold such intregue, don’t they? Thanks for the very nice comments on all my photos.

      I didn’t know there was an Iron River in Michigan. I’m guessing that it’s even more beautiful – Iron River here was nice, but the actual town of Iron River is just tiny. 🙂

       
      • Judy

        June 7, 2012 at 12:02 PM

        Jenna….I’ve never been there (Iron River/Iron Mountain, MI), it’s in the far western section of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, almost near the WI border, I think. But then, I’m not a geography expert!! I’m not sure of the size of the two towns. My husband thinks Iron Mountain is the larger of the two. A couple years ago we went as far as the Keweenaw Peninsula, and I’d like to go farther west in MI. The Keweenaw Peninsula (Copper Harbor) was beautiful, although Copper Harbor (town) was small. It’s fun to see places even in our own states!!

         
  7. Jenna

    June 7, 2012 at 12:29 PM

    I agree with you on visiting areas within your home state, Judy. Interesting things and places can be found anywhere. A few years ago, I saw the northeastern part of Wisconsin and it was amazingly beautiful. There are many waterfalls in the area, which I did not know. It was fall, and the leaf color was incredible. It was a beautiful get away!

    I’d love to explore Michigan someday. I’ve heard great things about the UP. Another thing that’s on my “someday” list.

    Thanks again. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
